The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse


How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

Windows Updates Available

(42 posts)
  • Started 7 years ago by raphoenix
  • Latest reply from raphoenix
  • Topic Viewed 5890 times

raphoenix
Posts: 14920

General reminder that MS Updates are available.
---
Wn7-64 (At least 5 as of Tuesday 23, 2010)
---
CAUTION:
Some might NOT want to install <Update for Windows 7 for x64-based Systems (KB971033)>
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
GKI610
Posts: 567

There were 2 for XP, also.

What's the skinny on KB971033?

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
SarahJames
Posts: 6581

Yep also had one that wouldn't install on Vista x32 - KB979306. Error code: 80070643.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
vistamike
Posts: 10945

Morning Sarah, could be many things when I looked, but office 2003 and.Net Framework pop up often; this from Microsoft;
'Windows Update error 80070643 can happen for several reasons. The most common cause is a problem with the .NET Framework installed on the computer. You might also encounter this error when installing updates for Microsoft Office 2003. If you were installing Microsoft Office 2003 updates when you received the error, follow the instructions in the "Microsoft Office 2003" section below. Otherwise, follow the instructions in the "Windows .NET Framework" section.'
You could browse Windows update error.
I in stalled 979306 ok but it took 15 mins to configure the update on rebooting. (Vista 32 H Premium),

Mike

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ProstheticHead
Posts: 3281

I've got 6 updates awaiting approval for my Vista 32 system. I think I'll run a backup before installing anything.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
mickeyblue
Posts: 1521

i installed all updates pertaining to win7 32-bit and 64-bit, no problems at all.

EDIT : both are ultimate version

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ian2
Posts: 632

These were fine on Windows Home 7

But waiting on installing this one

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
GKI610
Posts: 567

KB971033 installed ok on my Win 7 HP.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

@GKI610,
---
The <SOME> I referred to in my first post on the topic concerning Update KB971033 are those who (may) have non-standard system configurations.
---
This doesn't apply to you.
---
Be happy !! :)
---
Best Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
SarahJames
Posts: 6581

@ vistamike - thanks for the input, but I don't worry much about it. Just disabled the update, because I don't have Office 2003 installed - so why on earth would I need this???
Will take a look at the link you posted though ;)

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
GKI610
Posts: 567

@SarahJames, do you have anything like Powerpoint Viewer, or an old version of Word on your machine?

Thanks, Rick. I am happy

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Uh, are we talking about the same update, KB971033?

===================
More information about this update
This update for Windows Activation Technologies helps detect validation errors and activation exploits. This update also detects any tampering attempts made to important Windows 7 system files. Be aware that some counterfeit copies of Windows include malware.

When this update is installed, it performs a validation process for the copy of Windows that is running on your computer. However, this validation process does not affect the functionality of Windows. The update process exits silently if it detects no validation errors, activation exploits, or tampered files.
===================

It has nothing to do with Office 2003 Sarah? If is specifically for Win7.

Interestingly, I found this on the web :

--------------------

When you are installing updates over the next week or so be aware that Microsoft has finally released their anti-piracy update (KB971033) which can cause issues for many Windows 7 users, even those who got their copy of Windows 7 legitimately.

To quote: "For those of you who have a pirated copy of Windows 7 or have bought your computer from Dell, Best Buy or Gateway where Windows 7 was pre-installed you may want to stay away from this update.

While it isn’t supposed to make your operating system unusable, it will keep asking you to pay for it and will also make your wallpaper a boring blank solid color.

So before you decide to just install all of your updates when you shut down your computer make sure you check to make sure the file isn’t downloaded and ready to install. This is of course if you did not install the operating system yourself or pirated it."
=========

Note the warning above? I have a DELL and it was NOT automatically d/l'ed. My Dell came with Vista x64 and I purchased the MS Upgrade so I have a valid license, but it somehow (Windows Update) knew not to automatically install, still sitting there as an additional 'important update is available'.

Irv S.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

I did not want to be SO "blunt" in my opening comment. (LOL) (LOL)
---
I figured the <SOME> knew who they were. (LOL) (LOL)

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
SarahJames
Posts: 6581

@ ispalten - Mine has something to do with time and date and the summertime/wintertime difference.

@ GKI610 - yes, I have Office 97 :)

@ vistamike - I downloaded the windows fixit, but that didn't fix a thing (like I exspected - not very fond of the Fixit concept).
Will have another look later on, but can anyone confirm for me that this update can be skipped without problems?

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Sarah. You didn't need the time and date ones (unless you were having a problem with the time and date)
You should skip all updates until you have checked them out.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
SarahJames
Posts: 6581

Yep, I mostly wait a couple of days and see if anyone here has a problem, so I know what to avoid <LOL>.
I'll leave it be and just disable this update like I originally intended;)

Goodnight!

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Read TOTAL Article.

Very Intrusive MS Update even if one is Pure and Legitimate.

http://www.computerworld.com/s.....2010-02-25
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Rick, I've got SO MANY programs 'calling home' I wouldn't think another would matter. The number of programs that either insert a startup 'update' applet or will check for updates is unbelievable.

I was more worried about the comment that it would turn legit copies into questionable ones that need validating again.

I think under XP when you went to get updates it checked and loaded a new copy of WGA. Cracked versions couldn't get updates then. Of course, cracks to get around that appeared, so it was a never ending battle.

I suspect if enough people don't get the update, in the future it will either sneak in another way or it will be like XP, if you don't have it, it will be considered non-updatable.

Irv S.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Irv,
---
I know what you mean.
---
I just found out today my Logitech Win7 Mouse Driver was calling home !!!!
---
Fixed that one this morning. :) :)
---
Best Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
mickeyblue
Posts: 1521

upon further inspection i never receive the (KB971033) update.
what would be the reason for me not receiving the (KB971033) update?

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
LadyFitzgerald
Posts: 2232

raphoenix said: "I just found out today my Logitech Win7 Mouse Driver was calling home !!!!"

That's one of the major things I love about Zone Alarm's free firewall; unless I have already given it permission, it will block any program from phoning home and alert me that it is. i can then decide if I want to lett it this time only, not allow it this time only, or either block or allow it permanently. When first installed, the popup notifications are a hurt in the donkey until the firewall has been "trained." After "training,", ZA is pretty much invisible.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Most firewalls are like that. I have McAfee's and my wife has Norton. Both have the same feature. One can set the warning level. On both machines they are turned off and told to do what it thinks best. Best may not be what you want though. McAfee's will close ports to new apps, and in some cases this has led to program problems, like s/w never getting updated or in rare cases, not working correctly. Norton will keep some ports that it considers 'benign' open even for new apps, but it too has had its share of problems that require attention. Both of them 'choked' on the network changing when I just did something as minor as changing the router channel, and to top it off, my system is hard wired to the router and shouldn't care. I forgot what the problem was but it had to do with ports I recall?

I could never get a comfortable setting with either of these, either I got warnings and popups at some level or nothing. Went for nothing, but I do have to check occasionally.

Big program for both of these is when you do do an upgrade and MUST remove the old version. The new install is treated as a new program and doesn't always inherit the old settings all the time, some times it does, sometimes it doesn't, you just don't know when this happens.

Irv S.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Mickey,

"upon further inspection i never receive the (KB971033) update.
what would be the reason for me not receiving the (KB971033) update?"

Does it show up when you run Windows Update from the ALL PROGRAMS list?

It shows there for me, but it seems to be staying there? I'm set for auto-update and to be checked at 9AM every morning and it has not been d/l'ed or installed since it was put out? 5 others were installed on the 24th, 2 days ago, KB976264, 978637, 979306, 976662, and 977863. The 1st two and the last were recommended, the other 2 important. 971033 is listed as important as well and is also 'pending', but it never comes down? Wonder why?

Irv S.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
mfletch
Posts: 1434

Same here never received the (KB971033) update.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
mickeyblue
Posts: 1521

even for the all programs list, doesnt show up. hmmm interesting.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

What OS are you all running ?

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
mickeyblue
Posts: 1521

Win7 32-bit ultimate and 64-bit ultimate.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
mfletch
Posts: 1434

Win7 32-bit ultimate

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
LadyFitzgerald
Posts: 2232

@ispalten I don't have any problems when Zone Alarm needa an update (which isn't excessively often). It merely tells me an update is available, giving me the option to pick when to deal with it (best choice) or to ignore it (bad idea). It basically replaces the old version with the new one but it will carry all my settings over to the new version so no reconfiguration is needed unless I'm just really, really bored and want to reconfigure (lessee, the last time I was that bored was in 1992). I also have total individual control over what gets blocked or not, the level of blocking, and how much interruption occurs.

One of the biggest reasons I will no longer will use any Norton/Symantec products is they choke my computers. I've heard McAfee isn't any better.

Btw, if one is concern abbout old programs or bad files being left installed after updating, just download and run run Secunia PSI. It automatically scans for any updates your programs need once every week or two although scans can be initiated at anytime. By using the advanced mode (not all that complicated, even I was able to figure it out), it will tell you if any dangerous artifacts are left behind.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

@mickeyblue,
---
The (KB971033) Update may not be available in some world regions due to recent geo-political issues which are under dispute.
---
@ALL,
Also the the (KB971033) Update was shown as NOT Check Marked for Installation on most machines which have already PAed and are known to have legitimate licenses such as mine.
---
Thus, I just hid the Optional Update as it is Non-Applicable.
---
Didn't mean to create such an "up-roar" with this Routine Reminder Topic. :(
---
Best Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
mickeyblue
Posts: 1521

no "uproar" just general interest, which is good. will wait and see on that update, not that its important or anything, was just interested :)

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Hey Rick, we love it :)
Chaos rules.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
LadyFitzgerald
Posts: 2232

Constructive chaos is a good thing!

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
mzakho
Posts: 43

http://www.snapdrive.net/files/505203/zzz.swf

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Lady Fitzgerald,

The uninstall/install issue was not for the A/V but other programs on the system.

Well, McAfee is completely transparent and non-invasive on my system, but it is an Intel i7-920 with plenty of ram running W7. Not much will bog it down, even video processing and DVD Authoring. Those 2 would bog down my older XP system on a hyperthreaded 3.6GHZ Intel processor. Norton ISS 2010 is running on an XP MCE 2002 SP 3 system that is powered by a fairly slow Intel Core 2 Duo 2.13 GHZ processor. My wife doesn't even know it is running until it puts up a message, non-invasive too, and it doesn't bother the system even when running a full system deep scan. I'd say compared to older versions, Suite's today have vastly improved, but so then has the horsepower on computers.

The biggest problem probably with Norton today remains the remnants it leaves behind when you remove it. Many people have problems putting on different versions of Norton and must do a FULL clean before either replacing with different Norton Suites or even another suite from a different vendor.

Right now, McAfee's Anti-Spam doesn't work well with Thunderbird 3.0 and Win7. I'm waiting for that to be fixed, but I do have another Anti-Spam tool I used so I'm not worried.

Irv S.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

MZahko, what is that link for? I get BANDWIDTH exceeded, some words on it please?

Rick, mine doesn't show as 'optional' at all, but it just never gets d/l'ed? Could it be because of how I installed W7 (timeframe they last got notified?) or that I'm using a Dell and 'they' know it?

Also, I think you don't fully understand the concept of the 'fix'. I think it is two sided, protection against YOU having a cracked copy AND possible damage done to your system by virii or trojans? At least, if I 'believe' MS and accept this quote, "This update also detects any tampering attempts made to important Windows 7 system files. Be aware that some counterfeit copies of Windows include malware." from the fix description.

Even with this, and if it is REALLY doing a service for you and not just MS, I would assume it is activated every 90 days? If so, it might not be of ANY value for protecting you...

Irv S.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
LadyFitzgerald
Posts: 2232

Irv, I'm sorry if I wasn't clear, but I was referring to programs other than the AV when I was talking about Secunia PSI. I'm still on XP but even after I upgrade to WIN 7, I'll still be restricted to 32 bits because of program incompatiblity with 64 bits. sice photo editing can put some significant strain on RAM, forgive me if I'm kindasorta greedy about how much RAM I'll give up to an AV.

Forgot to mention...if Zone Alarm is set to always allow a program to "phone home," Secunia will report (via popup bubble) if a program does an update. I use that as a signal to initiate a scan to make sure nothing harmful was left behind.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Lady, don't get me wrong, I used Secunia in the past, just didn't think it was worth it? Actually as I recall it was the program classification that got me. They listed UPGRADES as NEWER VERSIONS.. Many times I found if I did this I had to pay for the upgrade, for instance I use Nero 8 and Nero 9 is out, and they'd list this as a newer version. I had too many 'old' programs and ones I didn't want to update on my system and it got to be bothersome.

I'm running 64 bit and I've hit very little in the way of not finding something to use? Almost all 32 bit programs will operate in x64? It is the old DOS 16 bit programs that really can't, and if your willing to start a DOS Emulator you can run those too. Probably a VM session of XP might as well, but you need better than W7 Home Prem. to really use that.

When I first got Vista x64 I hit a problem with my Canon Camera's ZoomBrowser program. Turned out it was Vista returning a return code due to an event handler. Turned the event handler off an it ran. I can't think of any other program that gave me trouble due to 64 bit?

Irv S.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

@Irv,
---
I have ALL Genuine MS stuff. Just a polite warning to others.
---
Only use A/V when I do maintenance, NEVER Real Time. MODED Router takes care of everything.
---
We Build "um"; we Fix "um". :) :)
---
As me and a MOD were discussing the other day, "Ain't nobody we can call for support except ourselves to make our machines run properly 24/7. (LOL)
---
Never trust MS. (LOL) (LOL)
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
LadyFitzgerald
Posts: 2232

Irv, my Music Notation program, Finale Allegro won't run on 64 bit. Even full blown Finale is tempermental on 64 bit WIN 7. There have been reports on their Forums about trouble with 64. There was another one or two but I don't remember offhand which ones.

Btw, Secunia just reported Adobe's installer program is a cat 4 threat. Adobe is recommending deleting the program usings the control panel's uninstaller. I know, Foxit is a better and safer reader but I need full blown Acrobat 9 for my use and my ScanSnap S1500 scanner needs it to operate.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Rick,

"Never trust MS. (LOL) (LOL)"

No COMMENT...

Ed Bott did an article on 'Call Home' today. It really does have a different meaning today from years ago.

From http://www.edbott.com/weblog/

====
Anyway, the story with the latest update is that there’s really nothing new to see. The KB971033 update doesn’t check your system to see whether you’re a pirate; it checks the integrity of the Windows system files to ensure that they haven’t been tampered with. It’s looking for known activation exploits, which can be used by rogue system builders to foist pirated software on unsuspecting customers. Microsoft released similar updates in February 2008 and February 2009 for Windows Vista. The only thing that’s different here is that this one downloads revised signatures every 90 days.
====

Ed's got more MS contacts to get the straight scope I'm sure than either of us do <VBG>... I seriously doubt they'd lead on a respected columnist.

His PHONE HOME column.

All interesting reading.

Irv S.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

@Irv,
---
Oh Yeah !!!!
---
ED BOT is one of the BEST !!!!
---
Pulls NO Punches.
---
Have several of his reference books.
---
Thanks for links,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.