The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse


How-To Geek Forums / Windows Vista

(Solved) - VSS : Event 8193

(16 posts)
  • Started 9 years ago by capecorral
  • Latest reply from capecorral
  • Topic Viewed 14762 times

capecorral
Posts: 0

Hello people,

I need your help, I can't any solutions on the web !

Since some weeks, when I look to the events on my pc, I see always the same error

VSS : event 8193 - error during call of process "ConvertStringSidToSid.hr=0x80070539

Note : the service : SHADOW COPY is running

DETAIL OF THIS ERROR (I took the xml description)

<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
- <System>
<Provider Name="VSS" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">8193</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-09-06T13:07:58.000Z" />
<EventRecordID>82469</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>GGMOBILE</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
- <EventData>
<Data>ConvertStringSidToSid</Data>
<Data>0x80070539</Data>
<Data>Opération : Événement OnIdentify Données du rédacteur en cours de collecte Contexte : Contexte d’exécution: Shadow Copy Optimization Writer ID de classe du rédacteur: {4dc3bdd4-ab48-4d07-adb0-3bee2926fd7f} Nom du rédacteur: Shadow Copy Optimization Writer ID d’instance du rédacteur: {f36280c3-f717-49b5-9d58-d8ca238f5177}</Data>
<Binary>2D20436F64653A20534543534543524330303030303838322D2043616C6C3A20534543534543524330303030303837352D205049443A202030303030323336382D205449443A202030303030333237362D20434D443A2020433A5C57696E646F77735C73797374656D33325C76737376632E6578652020202D20557365723A204155544F52495445204E545C53595354454D2020202020202D205369643A2020532D312D352D3138</Binary>
</EventData>
</Event>

<<somebody has may be a solution>>
Best regards and sorry for the mistakes in this english text, normally I speak french

Gérard (Brussels Belgium)

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 0

Bonjour Gérard. Have a look here,
http://social.technet.microsof.....64567676df

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
capecorral
Posts: 0

Hi LH, i can't resolve my problem !!!
I look (may be mad) eveywhere but till today no solution
Bonjour ou Bonsoir
Gérard

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0

Try the following: (I would like to have a look whether there is something wrong with your shadowstorage allocation)
1. Open Command Prompt and "Run as Administrator"
2. type VSSADMIN LIST SHADOWSTORAGE
3. Copy the result (highlight the shadowstorage data in the Command Prompt window and right click on the highlighted portition - then it will be in your clipboard ready to paste)
4. Paste it here

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
capecorral
Posts: 0

Thanks
here the asked copy

Microsoft Windows [version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. Tous droits réservés.

C:\Users\GGmobile>vssadmin list shadowstorage
vssadmin 1.1 - Outil ligne de commande d'administration du service
de cliché instantané de volume
(C) Copyright 2001-2005 Microsoft Corp.

Association de stockage de cliché instantané
Pour le volume : (\\?\Volume{e1ad4aaa-a105-11de-8415-806e6f6e6963}\)\\?\Volum
e{e1ad4aaa-a105-11de-8415-806e6f6e6963}\
Volume de stockage de cliché instantané : (\\?\Volume{e1ad4aaa-a105-11de-8415
-806e6f6e6963}\)\\?\Volume{e1ad4aaa-a105-11de-8415-806e6f6e6963}\
Espace du volume de stockage de cliché instantané utilisé : 168.672 MB.
Espace du volume de cliché instantané alloué : 299.746 MB.
Espace maximal du volume de cliché instantané : 300 MB

Association de stockage de cliché instantané
Pour le volume : (C:)\\?\Volume{e1ad4aab-a105-11de-8415-806e6f6e6963}\
Volume de stockage de cliché instantané : (C:)\\?\Volume{e1ad4aab-a105-11de-8
415-806e6f6e6963}\
Espace du volume de stockage de cliché instantané utilisé : 8.959 GB.
Espace du volume de cliché instantané alloué : 9.182 GB.
Espace maximal du volume de cliché instantané : 10.466 GB

Association de stockage de cliché instantané
Pour le volume : (D:)\\?\Volume{e1ad4aac-a105-11de-8415-806e6f6e6963}\
Volume de stockage de cliché instantané : (D:)\\?\Volume{e1ad4aac-a105-11de-8
415-806e6f6e6963}\
Espace du volume de stockage de cliché instantané utilisé : 8.881 GB.
Espace du volume de cliché instantané alloué : 9.111 GB.
Espace maximal du volume de cliché instantané : 9.608 GB

Association de stockage de cliché instantané
Pour le volume : (E:)\\?\Volume{e1ad4aad-a105-11de-8415-806e6f6e6963}\
Volume de stockage de cliché instantané : (E:)\\?\Volume{e1ad4aad-a105-11de-8
415-806e6f6e6963}\
Espace du volume de stockage de cliché instantané utilisé : 323.734 MB.
Espace du volume de cliché instantané alloué : 562.625 MB.
Espace maximal du volume de cliché instantané : 837.76 MB

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0

1. The first volume ( Pour le volume : (\\?\Volume{e1ad4aaa-a105-11de-8415-806e6f6e6963}\)\\?\Volum
e{e1ad4aaa-a105-11de-8415-806e6f6e6963}\
) has no drive letter associated to it. Do you have any idea what that could be?.
2. What is on volumes D: and E: - right now shadows are being written on those too, but that may not be neccessary.
3. C:, which is probably your appr. 65GB OS partition, looks normal.

If you could also post a snip of your "Computer" window (in Tiles view), that would help.

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
capecorral
Posts: 0

What do you mean with a snip ???
The first volume is an reserved space Acer, this volume is unavailable , it contains some initializing files of Acer.
C : systems files
D : datefiles
E : saved files

thx

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0
 
capecorral
Posts: 0

So, I hope that's the good one !

thx

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0

C'est n'est pas mal. Malheureusement ca ne montre pas le bon affichage (TILES en Anglais). Ce que je cherchais etait le nombre total d'octees et le nombre libre - Comme sur mon example.

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
capecorral
Posts: 0

http://i630.photobucket.com/al.....forum2.jpg

voilà le bon écran :-)

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0

OK, that's good. Your disk partitions look good. I had suspected a squeeze for free space, but that is not the case. In the meantime I have studied a few German websites where they were discussing the same problem. Unfortunately nobody had found a solution - but they all suspected the Anti Malware program - especially McAfee. Which is your security program?

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
capecorral
Posts: 0

EST NODE ANTIVIRUS 4 (daily updated)

thx for your research

Gérard

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
capecorral
Posts: 0

Hello, whs

And now what's the next step ?

Gérard

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0

I am not sure what the cause of the problem is. For a test, I suggest to turn the system restore for D: and E: off (where it is really not needed). Sytem restore only makes sense for the OS disk partition. To turn it off, you go to the Backup and Restore Center, then in the left pane to " Create a restore point and change settings", then you wait a couple of minutes until it found the data and check off the boxes for D: and E: followed by APPLY.

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
capecorral
Posts: 0

I made what you said, but I see no difference !
My laptop runs very good, no problem but the messages always appears !

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

The Best Tech Newsletter Anywhere

Join 250,000 subscribers and get a daily digest of news, geek trivia, and our feature articles.