The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse


How-To Geek Forums / Windows 8

Toshiba Laptop C855D remove Win 8

(54 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by jjlk2
  • Latest reply from Designing5
  • Topic Viewed 3456 times

jjlk2
Posts: 1

hope u can help me remove this......I want to reinstall my win 7 from CD. I have tried to follow how to get into the trouble shooting 7 get to boot options but it is not working.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

1. I would make an image of Windows 8 so that you can always go back to it if everything else fails. After all you have paid for it.

2. If you have a Windows 7 retail installation disc with a product key that is not used elsewhere, you can completely wipe the disk (e.g. with Diskpart > Clean in cmd from your installation disc) and then do a normal Windows 7 install.

3. If you get stuck with the UEFI, you may want to consult this thread.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

What software do you recommend to make an image of Windows 8?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
presence1960
Posts: 280

@ Designing5- Everyone on here recommends Macrium Reflect. I did test it and it worked great. I have been using Clonezilla for over 6 years. There are also other imaging software that will do the job. Your choice.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
afuhnk
Posts: 309

But make sure you get the latest version.
At work we use Acronis True Image and versions prior to 2013 would not work (properly) with Windows 8.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Have a look at this

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

Bad news. I was trying to create a partition on my C: drive. When I restarted my system, I got this blue screen error
What do I do now? It won't let me go to F8 to change my start up settings. I just want to reformat the computer now but I have not been able to change the booting order accurately, I think. I can't imagine how to fix this without your help. Thanks so much in advance!

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Did you actually create an additional partition - and how did you do it ?? You may have run into dynamic partitions.

Get the bootable CD Partition Wizard .iso (it is the last entry on the webpage) Burn this to CD (e.g. with ImgBurn) and boot the system with that CD. Then see what you have. If possible take a readable picture of the screen with a camera and post that here.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

I was using Partition Magic. Before I could see your magnificent response yesterday, I went ahead and tried to do it. I applied it by hitting the check mark on the program and the laptop restarted (to not start again). By the way, did you see the error message screen that I speak about?

The only other place that I can go to is BIOS, which is where I changed the booting order

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
germ-x
Posts: 5310

Partition Magic has been outdated since XP. Best to download the Partition Wizard utility from whs link above and give that a try.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

I certainly will but it's too late, now that I got this little problem :(

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

@ whs... I did what you suggested but, the CD with the iso that I downloaded from your link did not work. The same blue screen with the same error came up. You got any other suggestions????

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

That CD has a mini Windows 7 on it. If that does not load, then you may have a hardware problem - possibly with the RAM sticks. But make another test. Find a live Linux CD (e.g. this one, it's small). Now if that does not load either, than it is definitely hardware.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
germ-x
Posts: 5310

Did you just burn the .iso? You need to burn the .iso to a bootable Cd.
Most use imageburn.
http://download.cnet.com/ImgBu.....47481.html

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

Ooops! I already burnt it ! How do I make it bootable now that I took the disk out of the tray?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Set the BIOS to boot from CD first and put it back into the tray. Watch the screen. There may be a message "Press any Key".

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

I did JUST that. However, it takes me to the blue screen again. I'm gonna try it on this computer first and I'll let you know.....

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

Well, I tried to use my installation disc that I burned. I figured that I would just clean install and use my serial later. The problem is that, even though the DVD spins (cause I can hear it), the laptop will not boot up from it and it reverts back to the same blue screen here. I am soooooo frustrated with this because I know it was my fault and I don't know how to get a way around this. I wish that there was a quick way to wipe everything and clean install.... Thanks!

This is the infamous screen that I always end up at:

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
presence1960
Posts: 280

I would try one of two things to format the disk in the lappie. I would download gparted iso. Burn it to CD as an image. Boot from the CD and format the entire disk. Or just delete all partitions and leave as unallocated space. Then try to install Windows.

The other option is to take the hard drive out of the lappie and attach it to another machine to accomplish the format.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
germ-x
Posts: 5310

Have you changed your BIOs so your optical device is listed as the first boot option?
If you insert a bootable CD /DVD in your tray and if the BIOS is set correctly then the system should boot to whatever is on your bootable disk you have in the tray while powering up.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
presence1960
Posts: 280

Nice catch germ-x. my bad, I just assumed that is what the OP was doing. As the old saying goes...never assume...

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

As a matter of fact, I have set it up to boot up from the DVD rom. I can feel and hear the disc spinning in the tray but that's about it. The laptop can't read it or something and returns me back to the blue screen with the error. Now, I don't know how to attach it to another machine to boot it that way, unless you (presence1960) are talking through a network. Then again, I don't know how to do that either...

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

http://forums.toshiba.com/t5/C.....d-p/366227

Download Dban and make a Disc.
http://www.dban.org/download

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

What an eye opener that answer on that forum was! Do you think it would be possible to make a bootable USB stick instead of a disc, or not??

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

You can make an installation USB Drive from your installation windows 7 DVD.

http://www.intowindows.com/how.....ing-guide/

Read the directions thoroughly before beginning.

You will have to use a second computer which I'm guessing that you are posting from.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Designing5,

Now DO:

list disk

select disk x (where x is the number of usb stick) BE CAREFUL !!

format FS=NTFS quick

active

assign

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

Got it! I'm done doing it and it looks like this now.

What is next????

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

My apologies! I meant to send you this one

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

OK

M is the disk letter of the USB Drive.

Continue with the instructions in the link.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

Ok....

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

When do I close cmd and, will this be all I need to boot the laptop, even though I have not been able to to do it with the installations disc before?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

The Win8 USB should be an Installation copy IF the DVD is a Full Copy of Windows 8 and not just a Restore disc.

I'm still trying to figure out what you are attempting to do.

I thought you wanted the machine converted to Windows 7 ??

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

That was my original idea. I'm just trying to install either OS on it because right now, it's not working anyway. I don't care if it will be Windows 7 or 8.
I actually thought that I could install w8 and convert it to w7 later.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

You will have to install the Machine Device Drivers manually.

There are many variations of the C855D model so you will need the complete model number before downloading the drivers from the support page.

http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi.....p/home.jsp

Also you need to prepare the computer hard drive first using Win RE/PE and diskpart.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

I'm so embarrassed but, I don't know how to "prepare" it that way.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

I thought you were going to use Windows 7 and then prepare the hard drive using Dispart first.

I guess now just try to format the complete drive during the Win8 install process.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

I just want to start from scratch and wipe the HD completely. Will that be possible? By the way, the contents of the CD are copied already.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

I'm gonna try to do this tonight. I just wanted to say that, you have NO IDEA how much I appreciate your help. I've been going crazy over this problem. I thank you so much from the bottom of my heart!<3

Good night for now.... Bye!! :)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

OK, let us know how it goes.

Let this be a lesson to all that one has to make all the proper tools First.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

Good morning! I have been able to boot up my laptop with the usb stick and my Windows 7 installation disc. Then problem that I ran into is that I can neither repair, refresh or restore from the menu. I can however go to cmd prompt but don't know how to fix my problem from there.

I was unable to clean install W8 because it jumps from asking for the initial setup to a dialog saying that I typed a wrong password. I never had to option to type it in this time. So, I need to quit set up.

I have also tried to clean install Windows 7 but when there is no usable partition. Even though I chose the primary partition with 297 GB. it tells me that it's not usable because it's of the GPT partition style. How can I fix that? Once again, thanks in advance!

(My first choice would be to restore Windows 8 because I don't have the serial number and I would lose it if I reformat)
( If W8 fix fails, then I would need to know how to create a partition for it)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

First we need the COMPLETE Model Number of the machine.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

Here's the complete model and specs of this laptop.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

From the looks of the driver download page, the machine was built to run Windows 8.

http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi.....1073768663

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Have you thought about returning the machine back for warranty repair ??

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

http://pcsupport.about.com/od/.....part-1.htm

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
germ-x
Posts: 5310

What O/S are you really trying to install. You can't just keep trying to go from Win8 to win7 without preparing your hdd.
You will also need the correct mobo drivers. Those drivers should have been on your recovery partition. If that partition is destroyed then you need to go the mfg website and input your model and serial or product number and download all the drivers for both Win7 and Win8 so you have the correct drivers for the O/S you finally decide to install. Once you download all your drivers burn them to a disk so you have them ready.
Once that is done you will need to check your partitions and format your "C" drive to NTFS. Then start from scratch again.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
presence1960
Posts: 280

http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi.....1073768663

looks like there are no drivers for win 7-64bit just their toshiba apps and only 1 toshiba app for win 7 32bit. I would stick with win 8

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Ya, check my same link above. :)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
presence1960
Posts: 280

Lol!! Sorry Rick for being an echo. This is getting to be a long thread. I read germ-x's last post and decided to look for myself on toshiba's page. He may be able to get 7 to work, but after all the trouble already best bet is to go with 8 which is a guarantee.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Ya, need to use Windows 7 or Win RE/PE Diskpart and prepare the hard drive.

I think one can even do it With a Windows 8 Full Installation DVD or USB.

Then can Clean Install Windows 8.

After that can load in the Machine Drivers.

Many steps in the process but simple to do.

A walk through on the forum is almost impossible unless an OP has some previous knowledge base.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

My mom bought the laptop online from Amazon and can't send it back. I can't afford to take it in for repair either.
I have decided to stick to whatever OS that you suggest. If Windows 8 is the best to do this, I'll stick to that, however, I will still need directions as far as the cmd Prompts that will be needed. I wonder if there is a tutorial to follow to do this. Once again, I will stick to ANY OS, as long as I get my laptop to work again.

Please Tell me what steps to take to get Windows 8 to work. I'm willing to spend ALL day following those "many steps" in order do this. Last night, I changed a BIOS setting: In System configuration, I changed UEFI to CMS Boot and I was finally able to boot from the USB and CD. Thanks guys!

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
germ-x
Posts: 5310

If your mom purchased it for a Christmas gift then it should still be under warranty from the mfg.
If all fails you can contact Toshiba and get them to honor the warranty. Explain you cannot do a factory recovery / restore because the restore image is corrupt. They might send you free setup disks.
One other thought, if you were attempting to recover your win8 image from the recovery partition after attempting to install win7 there might be a problem with the MBR.
First you need to download all Win8 drivers from the mfg website.
Then as Rick pointed out you need to prepare your HDD using the win8 installation disk or other software.
If you have doubts than I would suggest Partition Wizard since it has a windows interface and might be a little easier to use
http://www.partitionwizard.com.....nager.html

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Designing5
Posts: 137

Thanks a lot my friends. I will try to do something about this. I appreciate the help!

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.