The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse


How-To Geek Forums / Windows Vista

system recovery options!!!!! plz help me!!!!!

(29 posts)
  • Started 8 years ago by natalia
  • Latest reply from Scott
  • Topic Viewed 21343 times

natalia
Posts: 35

Select the operating system you want to repair, and then click Next

but it doesnt show any operating systems

and i click to load disk but still nothing

what should i do???

and why did this happen????

i have exams and i need stuff on my pc tp study!!!!!!!!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
cas34
Posts: 361

can you please explain in more detail what your issue is and what you are trying to do.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
natalia
Posts: 35

Aww thanks for answering...this is what happened....I turned on my PC and a blue screen came up asking to choose keybord language. Then a system recovery options screen appears but it can't find my operating system.There is an option to load drivers if the operating system cannot be found. I can't seem to find any that works.

Is there anything I can do to get past this problem???

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

No need to post this twice. Stay with 1 thread. It's better for you.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
cas34
Posts: 361

So are you unable to boot up your PC?

If so what happens when you start up your PC, how far do you get, what messages come up?

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
natalia
Posts: 35

I'm really really sorry for posting a topic twice, really sorry! I just couldnt find how to reply...and oh well..Im sorry!!! I'm really upset with my pc

I start up my pc, a screen appears saying 'acer' then another black screen saying microsoft corporation and then the blue screen asking to select keybord language and then the screen with the recovery system options...and that's how far i get!!!

And the f8 didnt work!! I tried tapping it, then tried keeping it pressed, then tried doing that another 2 times...but nothing!! Why doesnt it find my operating system? I did try to look for the windows cd that came with the pc and inserted it...but again nothing!!!!!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Do you have a DVD in your drive ?

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
natalia
Posts: 35

yes....

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Take it out, reboot
on the next reboot, put it back in again.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
natalia
Posts: 35

nope it doesnt work

the dvd is 'acer anytime upgrade' and i inserted it cause i thought it would have the operating system and it would help...

thank you your replies and time!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
cas34
Posts: 361

You need to keep hitting the F8 key as soon as you see the Acer screen. Hopefully this will take you into safe mode and you can boot up from there.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
natalia
Posts: 35

hopefully it would! but it doesnt!!!!!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

That DVD (I think) is just a publicity disk.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
natalia
Posts: 35

whatever it is, it's not working!!! And i dont understand why my pc asks recovery!!!!!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

OK. Start from the beginning. What is the make and model of your computer ?

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
natalia
Posts: 35

Ok i'll try to give u as much info as I can

I'ts an Acer , Aspire 5920G.

Processor Inter(R) Core (TM) 2 Duo CPU T7100 @ 1.80GHz

Memory 2046 MB and system type 32-bit operating system

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

As soon as the computer starts booting up, hold down the Alt key, and tap on F10.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
natalia
Posts: 35

ok this is working

it opened a screen saying acer erecovery management

how would u like to restore?

Restore system to factory default
Restore system from cd/dvd
exit

im thinking the first option....but what do u say ?

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Yes. You will loose all your stuff on there tho'

Edit. If you want to save anything, the,
https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/use-ubuntu-live-cd-to-backup-files-from-your-dead-windows-computer/

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
natalia
Posts: 35

no but i dont want to lose my stuff...it's all my uni work and I need it to study for the exams!!! Stupid acer!!!!

Thanks though, I thought that was the solution!!! IS there anything else without losing my stuff???

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

I just edited my last post, please regard.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Before you restore, recover your stuff wit this. Knoppix runs completely independent of your current system from a DVD which you have to burn. But you need some external storage device (USB stick, external disk, etc.)
PS: Just saw LH edited and made a similar proposal. Now you have choices.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
natalia
Posts: 35

Thank both so much for the advice!!!!!!!!!

I hope I can make it!!

I'll let you know when I finally get my PC working again hehe!!!

Thank you!!!!!!!!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

We shall be standing/sitting here, mouths open (in anticipation), awaiting your reply :)

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

I second that - me too, but I will be sitting - lol.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
rouguewave
Posts: 6

Help! I'm having the same problem as this thread and the resolution given doesn't work for me. I've got an HP Pavilion dv6500 Notebook PC, AMD Athlon Dual Core Processor, 1 GbRam. I tried the Restart with touch Alt F10 and it takes me to the BIOS Setup Utility.

Anyone out there can help? The original problem for this thread explains the situation I'm in. :(

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Scott
Posts: 5618

rouguewave, thank you for searching our forums. The thread you're posting to is too old though. Please start a new one, m'kay?

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
rouguewave
Posts: 6

I'll try. :(

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Scott
Posts: 5618

Thanks. It is for your benefit, not to give you a hard time.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.