The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse


How-To Geek Forums / Windows Vista

MPEG-2 encoder is missing!!!

(48 posts)
  • Started 12 years ago by spyaaaaa
  • Latest reply from LH
  • Topic Viewed 28421 times

spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

When I was trying to open the windows vista dvd maker, it showed a window saying: MPEG-2 encoder is missing, to use Windows DVD Maker, compatible MPEG-2 video encodeing software must be installed on your comuputer". What should I do?

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

If you are running XP, you should run the XP Video Decoder Checkup Utility from Microsoft:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=de1491ac-0ab6-4990-943d-627e6ade9fcb&displaylang=en

Since you are posting in a Vista forum, you probably have Vista. In that case, try this Media Decoder Utility which is NOT from Microsoft.
http://mediacenterexpert.blogspot.com/2006/07/vista-media-center-decoder-utility.html

Run the appropriate one, then report back here on the output.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0

You can use this one too - there are many http://www.windows-media-player-updates.com/windowsmediaplayer11codecs.html

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

I tried to set the default decoder, but it says:"unable to set registry entry-object reference not set to an instance of an object"

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

Hi whs:

what should I select from that website you gave me, there are a alot of things I can click into, but not sure to choose which one

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
Budohorseman
Posts: 0

The FFDSHOW link will take care of all of the codecs listed below it.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

How do I know if the encoding software is compatible with my windows vista dvd maker?

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0

Let's make it easy. Use this one. There is only one choice: http://filehippo.com/download_klite_codec_pack/ What you need are MPEG-2 Codecs. With the klite pack you get this and more.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

Should I login first because i don't see where i can download it?

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
Budohorseman
Posts: 0

It's on the top right of the page.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
Lighthouse
Posts: 0

big green arrow

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
Lighthouse
Posts: 0

Robin Hood or William Tell?

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

I did all the things listed above, none of them worked...

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

I do believe that the MPEG-2 decoder that Vista is looking for is the one that is used by Media Center. Only decoders that are Microsoft approved can be used.

@spyaaaaa, when you run the Vista MediaCenter Decoder utility, whatever is listed is the default MPEG-2 codec. What does it say on yours? Also, when you click on the drop-down box, what are the available choices? Here's a look at mine:

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/6273/vistamediacenterdecoderqq4.png
http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/8033/windowsmediadecoderchoicf5.jpg

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

Here is some information from MS about the MPEG-2 or "DVD Decoder" used by XP & Vista in Media Center and other apps. Also, there is a list of compatible decoders:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/306331

BTW, I have ffdshow installed and you will notice it's not on the list of available decoders.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

Is it possible that I can get that from the internet or somewhere or another computer that have that DVD decoder?~~~because somehow it is not in my computer

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0

http://www.wmplugins.com/ItemDetail.aspx?ItemID=1067 It was very easy to find.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

I mean the dvd decoder from Microsoft

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 0

What's wrong with this one?

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

whs, that decoder costs money. Windows Vista should come with more than one of these pre-installed. If you look at the picture of the drop-down menu that I posted, you can see that I have a MS one and a Cyberlink one, among others. What I don't know, yet, is how these can become lost and how to restore them.

@spyaaaaa, did you run that decoder utility? What is the default codec that shows up when you launch it. What others are available on the drop-down menu?

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

Yes, I did use the decoder utility
it showed:
video:
1.Cyberlink Video/SP Decoder
2.QuickPlay Video/SP Decoder
3.Elecard MPEG-2 Video Decoder
4.CyberLink Video/SP Decoder(this one is repeated)

Audio:
1.CyberLink Audio Decoder (QP)
2.QuickPlay Audio Decoder
3.CyberLink Audio Decoder (HomeNetwork)

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

Even I downloaded the Elecard MPEG-2 Video decoder,the windows dvd maker is still not working.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

@spyaaaaa, search your system for a file called msmpeg2vdec.dll which should be in %SYSTEMROOT%\system32. This file is the MicroSoft MPEG2 Video DECoder DLL. It's the one my system is using as the system DVD Decoder, and I believe it is built-in to Vista HP.

If the file is missing, you will need to get a new copy. If the file is there, we can try to re-register it (with regsvr32) and that might restore it to function, or at least put it on the list of available decoders.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

I found the file, what should I do next?

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
umberto21
Posts: 0

Try downloading the Elecard Transcoder SDK, it has some working Mpeg2 decoders,
there are some software that offer Mpeg2 decoders as part of the the installtion, too.
a good one is ConvertHQ Premium (it converts all formats to all formats, and gives you
usable codecs, too).

Note that msmpeg2vdec.dll only exists on Vista.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

I know, I am using Vista

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

@spyaaaaa: we are first going to try to register these DLL files again. Go to Start -> All Programs -> Accessories and find the Command Prompt. Right-click on it and select "Run as administrator". In the command window that opens, type the following:

> regsvr32 msmpeg2vdec.dll
> regsvr32 msmpeg2adec.dll
> regsvr32 msmpeg2enc.dll

If you get any error messages, copy the text of the command prompt window (Alt+Space, Edit -> Select All, <Enter>) and paste it here. Whether you get errors or not, reboot your system and run the VMCD.exe utility again and see if the Microsoft video and audio decoders show up and can be selected. Then try DVD Maker again. Write back with your results.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

When I typed in the first command, I got a window that says: The module"msmpeg2vdec.dll"failed to load.

Make sure the binary is stored at the specified path or debug it to check for problems with the binary or

dependent.DLL files. The specified module could not be found."

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

Are you in the directory where the files are? Make sure all three files are there before running the regsrvr32 commands above. Try these commands and I've included the output from my system:

C:\>cd %SYSTEMROOT%\system32

C:\Windows\System32>dir msmpeg*

Directory of C:\Windows\System32

11/02/2006 07:35 386,560 MSMPEG2ADEC.DLL
11/02/2006 07:35 505,856 MSMPEG2ENC.DLL
11/02/2006 07:36 558,080 MSMPEG2VDEC.DLL
3 File(s) 1,450,496 bytes

EDIT: having markup trouble...

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

When I use the command prompt, should I choose "run as administrator"?

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

This one was quite successful, I got the followings:

C:\>cd %SYSTEMROOT%\system32
C:\Windows\System32>dir msmpeg*
Directory of C:\Windows\System32
11/02/2006 07:35 386,560 MSMPEG2ADEC.DLL
11/02/2006 07:35 505,856 MSMPEG2ENC.DLL
11/02/2006 07:36 558,080 MSMPEG2VDEC.DLL
3 File(s) 1,450,496 bytes

And then when I ran the command you gave me yesterday,it popped out a different error message:"the module"msmpeg2vdec.dll"was loaded but the call to DllRegisterServer failed with error code 0x80004005"

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
jd2066
Posts: 0

Try the run as administrator option for the command prompt if you haven't. It may work.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

I did do that

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

Well, this one wants to play hardball. Next thing we'll do is look at your registered DLLs. Get the RegDllView utility from NirSoft:
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/registered_dll_view.html

There's no installer, just extract it from the zip file to a folder of your choice. Run the exe file and it will scan for registered DLLs and display a big list. Use the find option and type "msmpeg". See if the 3 files we are interested in are on the list. Give me a bit and I'll post a screen shot of how it looks on my system.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

Here's how it looks on my system:

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

I don't see the three files

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

spyaaaaa: Unfortunately, the error code 0x80004005 is not very helpful. It can happen if you open the command prompt without right-clicking and selecting "Run as administrator". Do you get a UAC prompt when you open the command prompt?

Here's what we know. The Microsoft MPEG-2 video and audio decoders and encoder are present on your system. The files are there, in the right place, but the DLLs are not registered. It seems to me that not being registered is why they don't show on the list of available decoders. Now, the question is why they won't register. It's almost as if something is blocking them. Do you still have the Elecard MPEG-2 decoder installed? Maybe you should uninstall that, then try registering the 3 DLLs in an administrator command prompt.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

Do you think it will work if I reinstall Windows vista?

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

Is Windows dvd maker built in with the computer or windows?

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

Yes, the DVD encoder/decoder should work when you install Windows. Windows DVD Maker is built-in to Vista Home Premium and Ultimate.

If you do reinstall, you can use the Media Decoder Utility to check that all is well. And, you could run it periodically -- especially after a major upgrade or install -- to ensure that the encoder/decoder is still working.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
spyaaaaa
Posts: 0

Now I know what to do, thank you so much for your time and help!!

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

Nancy, you are very welcome. Helping others is what this site is all about.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
sparkleness
Posts: 0

I just want to say

Thank you, thank you, thank you...

I was experiencing exactly the same problem (ever since I installed a trial version of Nero). I uninstalled Nero and tried reinstalling Windows DVD Maker but to no avail. I have been visiting several forums following the advice but never got anywhere until I tried ScottW's solution (below).

I registered the files successfully and installed VMCD.exe. I ran this and set the defaults. I can now use Windows DVD Maker - one year after the problems started.

Once again, Thank you!!!

register these DLL files again. Go to Start -> All Programs -> Accessories and find the Command Prompt. Right-click on it and select "Run as administrator". In the command window that opens, type the following:

> regsvr32 msmpeg2vdec.dll
> regsvr32 msmpeg2adec.dll
> regsvr32 msmpeg2enc.dll

If you get any error messages, copy the text of the command prompt window (Alt+Space, Edit -> Select All, <Enter>) and paste it here. Whether you get errors or not, reboot your system and run the VMCD.exe utility again and see if the Microsoft video and audio decoders show up and can be selected. Then try DVD Maker again. Write back with your results.

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 0

sparkleness, you are welcome, welcome and once again welcome! :-) Oh, yeah, and welcome to the forum.

Thank you for posting your results. It's gratifying to know that an old thread like this is still helping folks, but most of them probably don't bother to post. Also, seeing your results confirms that this fix works for more than just one person which shows that it wasn't just a one-off. If you are still there, how did you find this thread?

Posted 12 years ago
Top
 
shtanzi
Posts: 0

hi...
when i write "regsvr32 msmpeg2enc.dll" i get this error: The module "msmpeg2enc.dll" was loaded but the call to DLLRegisterServer failed with error code 0x80004005.
for more information about this ....bla bla bla

could you help me ?

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 0

shtanzi hi. Please post your question in a New Topic. This thread is over 3 years old, and is now closed.

Posted 9 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

The Best Tech Newsletter Anywhere

Join 250,000 subscribers and get a daily digest of news, geek trivia, and our feature articles.