The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse


How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

More details on Windows7 pricing

(36 posts)
  • Started 7 years ago by whs
  • Latest reply from 0zSpitt
  • Topic Viewed 6083 times

whs
Posts: 17584

http://arstechnica.com/microso.....-vista.ars

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

I just read in this same context that the W7 upgrade program will start during the next days - in the US. In Europe, this will not be offered because of the browser mess that was created after the complaints of Opera and others. MS says, it is technically not possible to provide the upgrade program given the EU rulings.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

I'm Guessing those "El Cheapo" Upgrade Editions will turn out to be real albatrosses when Service Packs / Updates are released and Slipstream Installation DVDs need to be made.
---
Wouldn't touch an Upgrade Edition of any MS Product.
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Microsoft to sell Windows 7 for $50
---
MS Want YOU !!!!

http://www.computerworld.com/a.....2009-06-25

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Let's keep an eye on it. For $50 I'll get one to play around with my SSD in the fall.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

if these are retail prices what do you think the oem's will sell for? although $120 is a reasonable price. that is if it's a full version, not an upgrade

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 6609

Windows 7 pre-orders are now available at the Microsoft Store in the US:
http://store.microsoft.com/mic.....tegory/102

Prices starting at $49.99 for the Home Premium "Upgrade".

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Very good. I ordered one. I wonder how they verify the "upgrade" part. I could be someone that does not have any Windows - since you can do an installation from scratch.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
JH
Posts: 61

EU are a bunch of troublemaking swine. Basically ordering MS to remove a major selling point of the OS is a typical piece of EU nonsense; I take it this means an in place install will no longer be possible, so if we want to save reinstalling all our programs we will have to export the registry and copy the files?

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

If one does not know how or is to lazy to do a basic Clean Install of a New O/S, one should NOT be calling others swine my friend.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 6609

whs, if the upgrade version of Windows 7 is like Vista, it will ask you to put your Vista install DVD into the CD/DVD drive to verify prior ownership. If you don't have such a DVD, you will have to install over an existing copy of Vista.

And, if they have learned their lesson, they won't allow a simple trick to bypass the previous ownership check as they did with Vista's upgrade versions. More about the current upgrade paths and procedures can be found here at Microsoft.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

ScottW, I only have the DVD that I burnt from the recovery partition. You think that might be good enough?

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
madmacs
Posts: 1438

<----- feels like an idiot, well the EU made him that way, lol.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 6609

whs, I doubt that a restore disc on DVD-R will work for the Windows 7 upgrade installer. However, you should be able to install onto the system that created the restore disc as long as Vista is installed on it. You can do an upgrade install or a clean install over the existing copy of Vista.

Instructions on how the current upgrade install is done are here at Microsoft, but it's rather confusing.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

ScottW, the problem is that I want to install W7 on my SSD. I was never able to install Vista from the recovery disk and with the Ghost copy function there were other problems as you may remember. So what I really want to do is leave Vista on my HDD, disconnect this and install W7 on my empty SSD - so there is nothing to install it over it.
The reason for all of that is that I really don't want to use W7 as my production system but rather stay with Vista - at least for the time being. I just wanted to experiment with W7 and the SSD.
Maybe I should call MS - do you happen to know how to call them on a normal area code number because from here I cannot call an 800 number.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 6609

whs, it is certainly confusing. There is a section in the installation guide (last link, above) that talks about a clean install when: "You want to install Windows Vista on a separate partition of your hard disk, and you have an operating system on your computer and an available partition." I would think that you could do the same if you leave the hard drive with Vista on it in the system. The upgrade installer will see that you have Vista, by looking at the hard drive, and should allow you to install Windows 7 to the SSD. However, I would also expect that it would somehow prevent Vista from running when it's done.

At the bottom of all of these MS support pages is a link to "Contact Us" which talks about how to reach MS support by phone, e-mail, and chat. If you change the location from United States to Germany, I would expect the Contact Us link to give the appropriate phone numbers.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Thanks, I understand. I will get in touch with them in the US since the offering does not exist in Europe and I ordered under my US address. Just out of interest I also found this workaround. Maybe that would work with W7 too.

PS: do me a favor. Get the info off the "contact us" link. I am automatically rerouted to the German site and cannot get at the US info. Maybe you can post a snip. Thanks.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Windows 7 pre-orders grab Amazon's top sales spots .......
http://www.computerworld.com/a.....2009-06-26

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
madmacs
Posts: 1438

Question. Can someone update from an OEM Vista that´s over a year old, if so what would the options be? Matt

Someone asked me, and I haven´t got a clue!!!

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Matt,
---
This is a Pre-Order Sale so YES from the info below.
---
"According to Microsoft, the Windows 7 upgrades can be purchased and used by users currently running Windows Vista, Windows XP and the even-older Windows 2000. For the latter two operating systems, however, Windows 7 must be done as a "clean install" that deletes all data and applications; users must back up data before the move to Windows 7, then restore the data and resinstall all applications. Only Vista users can do an "in-place" installation that leaves data, Windows settings and applications intact."
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
madmacs
Posts: 1438

Thx Rick. :)

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Matt,
---
As I CAUTIONED above; Builders, Families with multi-machines, Enthusiast / Hobbyist and Small Businesses should consider the Full Editions of Windows 7 at the low prices in lieu of the Upgrade Editions for obvious reasons.
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 6609

whs, here are the snips that you asked for. These support pages at MS certainly give you the run-around trying to force you to a web page instead of revealing the contact information. To get these images, I told it this was a retail version of Vista Home Premium and the topic is "Setup". There is no Windows 7 help that I can find, and the list of topics is sparse.


Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 6609

whs, also regarding the upgrade check, I was saying before that any "tricks" that worked on Vista are not likely to work on Windows 7 since these are well known and MS can easily plug the holes that are known to work. The Software License Manager (slmgr) trick that you linked to has already been mentioned on this forum and many others for (supposedly) extending the Windows 7 RC timeout. The old trick of doing a non-activated install, then an upgrade install with one of the original Vista Upgrade discs has already been plugged on new Vista discs, I believe.

Of course, some enterprising new hacker may find another way around it. For me, this explains why they started using Windows Genuine Advantage (WGA). The only way to surely enforce licensing is when the user "calls home" for service packs, updates and so on.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Thanks ScottW. I will try to find someone in MS who can answer the questions. But first I have to find a way to call the 800 numbers. As to the "tricks", you are probably right - that is not something one can rely on.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

other than wmc and aero would windows7 home premium work on a netbook? i'm just not liking the xp the netbook came with...

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

It will

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

it better, i just ordered 2 :P

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

What netbook ?

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

How do you plan to load them with no CD/DVD ????
---
Hope their Bios initializes the USB bus on boot for external devices otherwise, all I can think of is making a network deployment installation package which is NO easy task plus somehow doing a clean install over a network.
---
Tis beyond the tools and utilities I have.
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

lh, i sold all the notebooks and desktops i built, thanks to howtogeek. dell had a netbook dell10v for $249 i ordered in preproduction. think they're $100 more now.
rick i have an external dvd burner i was able to reformat the hard drive when i first got it and remove all the junk dell loves to pack in their computers, then reinstalled xp from it. after playing around with windows7 on new hard drives it seems to be able to detect everything. if i have a problem i'll be back here asking why you didn't stop me from doing this :p

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
Scott
Posts: 5618

Oz, from today...

http://www.mobilemag.com/2009/.....ash-drive/

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Good you can get into the machine with the External USB DVD Burner.
---
That's what I meant about the USB being initialized by the bios during boot.
---
These custom machine Bioes do a good job of initializing the USB devices in several modes during boot but didn't know if the OEM Netbook Machine Bioes would or could do the same.
---
I'm sure you can handle the O/S change now that I know the External Burner will work with the Netbook. :) :)
---
Edit: It can be done with a Flash Stick also like Scott indicates above. Have done many Laptops with XP.
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
Scott
Posts: 5618

One more,
http://windows7news.com/2009/0.....-yourself/

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

good articles, i would get everything on usb drives if they came that way. on the second article about making bootable usb drives. i've made iso copies of vista for a couple of the notebooks that had recovery partitions. is it possible to make an iso of windows7, and transfer it onto a usb drive? would it boot and start the install process?

i'm saving the second article on my site. it's a good reference i can use

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

i was wrong, i didn't make them iso, i copied vista to a folder and burned it to a dvd

i think ~> ???

Posted 7 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.