The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse


How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

(Solved) - internet browser does not open

(13 posts)
  • Started 8 years ago by 2009berney
  • Latest reply from Hatryst
  • Topic Viewed 6677 times

2009berney
Posts: 0

I have to click it several times and end the processes many times in task manager before it finally opens, I am not sure where to start but I am open to all ideas.

I have defragged and ran all of my scans on it with no progress

windows 7 64 bit ultimate, hp G60

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
2009berney
Posts: 0

I forgot to mention that this is the case with all web browsers on my computer

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
2009berney
Posts: 0

any ideas?

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
ronniesonora
Posts: 0

Some mouse have a double click speed control. If it is set to fast some folders may not open. Open control panel then open mouse. The double click speed
control should be in the tab Activities.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 0

What browsers spefically, I assume IE8, but what else?

I'd imagine it could be an ADD-ON? Try DISABLING ALL ADD-ONs and see what happens.

In FireFox, you can run with a NEW PROFILE with the PROFILE MANAGER.

Try that. Once you find the problem ADD-ON, see if there is an update or just don't use it.

Doesn't help, post an IPCONFIG /ALL from a COMMAND PROMPT results please.

I assume ALL other network functions and programs work correctly?

Irv S.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
mfletch
Posts: 0

Start>All programs>System Tools>Run Internet Explorer without Add-ons

Does it load now! if no,

Download the free version of MBAM install update and do a scan

Let it remove what it finds

http://www.malwarebytes.org/

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 0

Fletch, mt W7 H.P. does not have that (Start>All programs>System Tools>Run Internet Explorer without Add-ons) showing. All programs needs to have you select ACCESSORIES to even get to SYSTEM TOOLS, but no such option is there.

This link, http://www.nirmaltv.com/2009/0.....t-add-ons/ seems to have the correct way (with ACCESSORIES in the 'path') and even shows a picture, but I do not have that option, and the OP might not either. The link does give a 2nd option on how to do it via the RUN line.

Irv S.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
mfletch
Posts: 0

Cheers I missed the Accessories bit out,

A scan with MBAM is the way to go.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
2009berney
Posts: 0

I use firefox and chrome, it just takes it like 5 mins for either of these to open.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 0

OK, did you try the suggestions to see if it is the add-ons?

What about the IPCONFIG info?

Irv S.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
hatryst
Posts: 3482

I have a couple of suggestions (total of 8, to be precise...)

1. Try running firefox in safe mode (as already suggested)

2. Scan your system with malwarebytes (MUST-PERFORM task)

3. Scan your system again (full scan) - optional

4. Can you do a system restore (if possible) ?

5. Is it only the internet browser that is slow, or do the other programs show the same behaviour? Make sure your hard drive is working fine. It happened to me when my HDD was about to say goodbye. This might help
https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/19591/monitor-your-hard-drives-health-with-acronis-drive-monitor/

7. Try using any web browser safe mode, just to give a try...

8. Don't worry, everything will be fine. Did you notice that there is no solution # 6 ? :)

Accepted Answer · Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
mfletch
Posts: 0

Did you notice that there is no solution # 6 ? :)

Thats probably the one that works??

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
hatryst
Posts: 3482

Absolutely. That's the one that makes you smile, when you're fed up of your lazy, ill, sick computer :)

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

The Best Tech Newsletter Anywhere

Join 250,000 subscribers and get a daily digest of news, geek trivia, and our feature articles.