The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse


How-To Geek Forums / Windows Vista

HTG Forums are 1 Year Old. (Also, the Contest Winner Announcement)

(51 posts)
  • Started 8 years ago by The Geek
  • Latest reply from BobJam
  • Topic Viewed 5408 times

The Geek
Posts: 2059

As Scott posted a month ago, this forum is now a year old. Within a year, we've accomplished some really impressive things:

* Around 2 million pageviews
* 5000+ Topic threads
* 37000+ Posts
* 3247 Members (that have posted at least once)

Numbers aside, I think that we've reached our primary goal... and that is to be friendly and helpful to all those who are seeking help.

And we could only do all of that because of all of you... I think we've all worked together to create the most helpful, friendly community around, and I have no doubt things will get even better going forwards... so thanks!

In other news, the winner of our random contest for an iPod Shuffle is: BobJam (We'll email you soon)

The winner was picked by the RAND() function in MySQL, for those who might be interested.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Scott
Posts: 5618

Congratulations BobJam, and thank you to all members who contribute their valuable time.

and Bobjam, please state your preferences as discussed in the original post and email either geek @ howtogeek.com or scott @ howtogeek.com

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
jack7h3r1pp3r
Posts: 2815

congrats bobjam on winning the contest :) and i give a woot to htg for being the friendliest tech site on the net :)

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Lighthouse
Posts: 13598

Well done BobJam. The swallows are on standby :)

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Congrats BobJam. That'll keep you busy for a while.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

Wow . . . I've never won anything in my whole life, and I'm 61 years old. Of course, I've not entered many contests in that time, so I guess I really beat the law of averages on this one. Thanks all, and thanks especially HTG.

On a side note, I started posting here about six months ago, but I've certainly not accumulated as many posts as quite a few people here, so I'm glad HTG explained how he arrived at the random award . . . since I am at best a "junior" member here and not the "seasoned" veteran that some are.

I've been a little more active lately, and Lighthouse very kindly gave me a heads-up on an approach I used here in a recent post.

I do participate on quite a few forums, and I have to say (NOT just because I am the award recipient, but because this gives me a chance to make an "acceptance speech") that this forum is one of the best around. And the hall monitors, LH and Scott, are good at doing the Mod dance. And I did not know that this forum was so new. Judging by the participants and expertise shown, I would have guessed it has been around longer.

And, yes, whs, I am essentially ipod illiterate and challenged, so there will be a learning curve here.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Lighthouse
Posts: 13598

If it's plug'n'play you shouldn't have a problem :)

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

LH, It's not that simple. I am wresteling with my ipod since over a year - mostly because the software that came with it is so dumb.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

If I can drive a computer, I assume I can drive one of these things(?) And can I download podcasts and transfer them too (like GRC security stuff he broadcasts)??

Do I need to buy a USB connector for the thing?? (I've asked these questions before, but I just wanna see what other people have to say on it).

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
Posts: 6609

Congrats, Bob! I hope to win something in my life. I hope it's the Lotto! :) Don't worry about the iPod Shuffle -- it's only has about 2 buttons. Stop and Go maybe?

@whs, isn't that ipod software that is so dumb, iTunes? It's not a favorite of mine, either. Or were you referring to the firmware?

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

I was referring to the whole package. I have a Sansa 250 though. They have their own file formats etc. - it's just a pain.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Aleeve
Posts: 2818

Well done Bobjam!

and whs I agree entirely - I have to sort out a couple of peoples' ipods and itunes sucks!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
jack7h3r1pp3r
Posts: 2815

i would have to disagree on the itunes thing because i really like it a lot and find it really simple to use as long as you keep all of your music in the same place.

i have never had any probs with it.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
The Geek
Posts: 2059

I think that iTunes is pretty decent for regular use... especially if you just want a random mix, it does that really well.

It's less useful for people like me that want exact control over everything... I use Amarok on Linux instead.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
mysticgeek
Posts: 0

Congratulations BobJam! Thank You for reading!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Aleeve
Posts: 2818

I am the same - if a single bit of track info is wrong...... !
I find WMP 11 to be brilliant for music organization though!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
tmay
Posts: 1

I was having trouble with my computer and my son cleaned it off and re installed everything. Now I can't find the icon I need to use to install more fonts. Some of the fonts I had loaded are now in a folder that I can't figure out how to do a drop down on. I need help! Could he have wiped off something I needed?

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
The Geek
Posts: 2059

@tmay

You'd have much better luck if you'd create a new topic for your question.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Lighthouse
Posts: 13598

BobJam. I just heard that The Geek is sending it by "Groundhog Mail". If it doesn't arrive before next February 2nd. You may have a long wait :)

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

tmay, send the font file to the desktop (not a shortcut, but the file itself). Then type SHELL:FONTS into the Start search field. Click on the shell:fonts folder above. That will bring up the fonts folder. Then drag your fonts file Icon from the desktop into this folder. That should do it.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

LH,

I live in a rural town, and the mail isn't delivered but about twice a year here, so February 2nd is about right for the next delivery <grin>.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

Hey Geek,

I got the iPOD Shuffle today (Thursday, July 31). When I opened the box I at first didn't realize it was that clip thing. I thought the clip was just something to stick to the iPOD. But the rest of the box was empty (except for the connectors), so I thought "Geeezz, Apple forgot to pack the shuffle itself". Then I realized it WAS the clip thing. I didn't know they were so small.

Anyway, thanks. May not be posting here for a while because I'll be playing with my new toy (BTW, got the song gift card too).

BJ

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
The Geek
Posts: 2059

Very glad to hear it already arrived... I totally forgot to send you the tracking number, but I suppose it was barely needed anyway.

The shuffle is designed to be wearable, it's really a cool little device.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
jack7h3r1pp3r
Posts: 2815

ya but my brother looses his all of the time lol.

i have one of the big ipods but i am thinking about getting a smaller one skating though the other one is kinda bulky

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Dcw329
Posts: 216

i think i would prefer the big ipod they have... the have the ipod suffle, the small ipod, the big ipod, and the ipod touch... i think i would want the big ipod if i could choose... it has a biger screen, and i would prefer that... sometimes smaller isnt better... when it gets smaller you sacrafice alot...

but i have the zune... and i must say, the design is pretty good, i like the wireless sync function it has (so you dont have to hook it up to the computer,), and i like that you can hook it to your wall for power(i think thats seperate with ipods) ...

but its got some major problems that make the ipod better... like, you can sync songs with friends, but thats only if you know someone with a zune (and you dont find them often), and you are only borrowing the song.. you cant even keep for a reasonable amount of time...

there are no accesories for the zune, like no zune-stand, or small speakers, or good cases, etc..... they do have some, but not nearly as wide of a selection... and its harder to send movies or podcasts you find on the internt and send them to your zune...

so i think i would want to stick with the basic ipod... suffle is nice, but you cant even see the song your playing... kinda messed up i think, cause when you get 5,000 songs, thats gunna suck lookin' for your "ice ice baby" song... just sayin...

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
jack7h3r1pp3r
Posts: 2815

i think thats why they have the shuffle only hold a couple hundred songs lol and i would still use my big ipod there are just times when i could use a small one too

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
The Geek
Posts: 2059

Yeah, I always found the regular ipod to be far too bulky for just being able to use anywhere, especially if you are going jogging or something like that.

Not that I exercise anymore, of course =)

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

Geeezzz . . . this thing is addictive. In just one day, I already have three play lists (and that's on a primitive dial up connection and an archaic USB 1.0 port).

Part of the addiction is that while you're downloading you can listen to the music you've already downloaded. And then you continue to download, play music, download again, play music again, etc.

And the iTUNES interface is a "clicker's" dream. There are so many views, and each can be clicked to present so many views again (like a playlist order). The views in the left pane alone are fun (iTUNES Store, Purchased, Music, Playlist, Device, etc.) to toggle back and forth.

However, I use a laptop, so heat is a big consideration. Apparently, playing music is processor intensive because my processor temp rises about 20 Degrees F above what it usually runs at. And also prebuffering to listen to samples especially raises the heat level. It usually runs at between 110 and 118 degrees F, and with the music playing it goes up to about 138F, sometimes slightly above 140. I have a chill mat and periodically put a burst of compressed air in the vent to clean out the dust, but it's a vintage 2004 machine and heat takes it's toll . . . for example the thermal paste is probably degrading. 140 is nowhere near the temp that would fry my AMD Athlon M XP2500+ (212 would do it), but I get nervous when it approaches 140, and shut 'er down and let it cool off.

So heat is the thing that finally gets me out of the iTUNES cycle.

BJ

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

I would not worry about 140F. That should be normal. Even 160F is not critical and you are far from 212. Music takes some Mips. I am right now playing a symphony and 3 cores run at 25% on average and 1 core sits at 1%.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Bob + whs,

I wouldn't worry about it. The on-board processor thermistor should initiate processor shutdown before the chip frys. This old Dual Core is running at +150F and really pulling watts with (6) case fans plus the CPU fan and PS fan. A lot of stuff in this particular tower.

Take the case sides off if the temperature begins to rise too much so the A/C can get to it. Sometimes the case fans will create air flow stalls.

Rick P.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
mandypinecone
Posts: 123

I got a shuffle this spring. i mostly use it when I'm playing in the garden. Before the shuffle, I was using a Nano, but couldn't find a comfortable place to keep it. I found the not having a screen is a plus for me i spend less time looking for a song and instead just let it play and here songs i forgot i had.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

Hey Rick,

Well . . . I can't crack the case on this laptop for ventilation . . . it's NOT a desktop.

Which is why heat is such a critical issue. Because of the restricted space inside a laptop, heat gets more intense. And with the smaller fan that laptops have, the cooling efficiency of the fan is not the same as it would be in a desktop.

I moderate one forum where users are constantly complaining about the noise on their fans in a laptop. Nine times out of ten, it's a laptop equipped with a Celeron, which runs much hotter than a Pentium. Celerons are OK on Desktops, but on laptops they usually result in frequent and noisy fan cycles. Yes, laptops equipped with Celerons are cheaper than the ones equipped with Pentiums, but you get what you pay for, and Celeron laptops generally have worse TTF's than laptops with Pentiums. I'm tempted to be a smarta** and say "You get what you pay for" when people complain about fan noise and frequency with a Celeron laptop, but of course being the mature and responsible moderator I have to hold my tongue.

Of course, I have an AMD, which also runs hot, and that's why I'm so sensitive to heat and clean this thing out frequently and have a chill mat. But the typical novice user doesn't take those precautions. They just get the cheapest and expect it to run quietly. Sheeeessh!!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Maybe next time you should look for a system with an Intel Atom chip. They hardly produce any heat and do not need fans. http://www.tomshardware.com/re.....,1947.html

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

whs,

Whoa . . . Dude. You must be a real Geek if you're able to read through all that geek-lingo and get it. I'm just a lightweight, and pretty much glazed over as I tried to read through that review.

But some of the comments seemed to be close to plain English, and I pretty much gathered that their consensus was that the review was BS . . . or rather the commenters thought so, but I couldn't make heads or tails out of it myself.

At the very least, I gathered that this was pretty much an experimental effort by Intel, but as always marketing will have its way and I suspect the Atom will be available to the public before it's really ready. Caveat emptor . . .

But let me get the focus back on my post about being addicted to the iTUNE/iPOD.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

There is already a motherboard out with the Atom Chip and last week they started selling one of these mini-pc's with the chip - at least here in Germany. So the thing is here. Sorry I strained you with the article but after 35 years I spent in IBM development, I do not realize the difficulties others may have. Next time I'll pick an easier one.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Bob + whs,

Well you guys saw a picture of My Build (LOL) (LOL) (LOL).

I have got to find away to put pictures up as I did last week.

Did it once for the ( My Build Picture ) but can't duplicate the procedure using normal HTML code or Scripts.

Rick P.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Unless I misunderstood - are you talking about posting pictures on here? Then use Photobucket. I can post the procedure if you need it (have it canned).

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

Rick,

Not sure what the problem is on your end, but DON'T use ANY HTML or scripting. Ignore the site instructions about backticks, and just try putting the image codes WITH straight brackets ALONE . . . DON'T use the HTML "<" character . . . or any other HTML character for that matter, just [] and the image url between them. Have you tried that??

BJ

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

whs,

Know about PhotoBucket because it pulls pictures off their website.

Last week I was able to put up a picture from off of an image store internal directory of one of my websites using HTML code just like PhotoBucket does.

Now, I cannot do it using the same HTML coding I used last week.

I play with the coding late at night when the HTG site is slow but can't code a picture to post as I did last week - strange.

Rick P.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

Hmm, I guess you are on your own. I saw a big discussion between BobJam and Sarah about it, but did not really follow it.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

Rick,

Try ImageOX (http://www.imageox.com/index.php) . . . it's a free image hosting site that I used. Photobucket and your own website may have some nuances in the url that makes it not work. I did mine successfully with ImageOX, so it should work for you. If it doesn't, then I might be inclined to suggest, at the risk of you having your pilot friends buzz me, that it's something in the simple straight bracket placement that I've been suggesting.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Bob,

Yes, remember we played with this last week when I coded up (MY BUILD) (LOL).

I'm just a "stickler" for using proper correct coding so that is why I keep trying.

My sites are (NOT) hosted any longer since I had cancer operations SO they DO have problems because I cannot get into Back End.

Use to code some beauiful websites but can't afford hosting or serving from my own ISP anymore.

Thanks,

Rick P.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

Rick,

Well . . . I understand what you said about being a "stickler for using proper correct coding" (I have a lot of "obsessive/compulsive" behavior too when it comes to computers), but apparently this board software does not share our disorder. So, with that in mind, I doubt very seriously that your correct coding is going to do it here. You're just going to have to do it "incorrectly" for it to work here.

Since you mentioned it, my Sister had breast cancer . . . but she is now a 5 year+ survivor. I trust you have recovered too. If you want to continue that conversation, I'll look for your post on it in the "Off Topic" discussion here.

Anyway, try ImageOX and those brackets.

BJ

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Aleeve
Posts: 2818

Just to butt in on what is a very sensible conversation
No offence or anything Bobjam
but you're comment about thinking that apple had forgotten to pack the shuffle itself and thinking it was just the clip cracked me up :D

Thought I'd just say that!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

Hey Aleeve,

No offense taken . . . glad to give you a chuckle. A symptom of one who's not very tech savvy on the latest devices.

BJ

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Aleeve
Posts: 2818

no worries!
I suppose it depends where your interests lie!

However, as you may have already seen, I certainly do NOT have an iPod - I hate the things!
I find them annoying anc clunky and nothing like as good as eveyrbody makes them out to be :P

even though everybody seems to have them!

I have a Walkman (the new type - with video playback too :D and it's perfect!)

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

Hey Aleeve,

I'm intrigued by your remark that you "hate" iPOD's. "Hate" is a pretty strong word, usually reserved for a violent dislike for something. So, do you really "hate" these iPOD's, or are you just using the word to describe a casual dislike??

Coupla' other questions. Why do you find them "annoying" yet your Walkman isn't?? And why do you find them "clunky" yet your Walkman isn't. I'm not bashing the Walkman, but just curious.

The Shuffle is not at all "clunky" with that clip. In fact, I can clip it to my shirt and I forget about even having it except for the music in my ears. So, are you talking about the bigger iPOD's or all??

I'm still in the grips of the novelty, but maybe when that wears off I'll not like the thing. I doubt it . . . but it's possible.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Aleeve
Posts: 2818

Ok, hate is a little strong, but I do have a strong dislike for them that I always uphold!

Annoying and clunky? Not physically, but I do not like the menu system and the way you have to press menu to go back etc
Although it is different for you because you have a shuffle without a screen
So I guess I do mean the bigger iPods

My walkman is very simple and easy to use (and i'm not simpleton! - I can easily use more difficult things, but the usability on my mp4 is fabulous!)

So, yeah I suppose that's about it!

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

OK . . . so the iPOD shuffle is not on your "bad" list I guess.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
Aleeve
Posts: 2818

'Bad' list
hehe
Nah I don't mind that - but would prefer a screen myself
But I see and fully understand its uses, especially for exercise or similar
Then again, exercise ?
Well...

I think I should have a 'bad but should be good' list

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 
BobJam
Posts: 1052

Yes, I'm alergic to exercise too. Since I've retired, a low energy lifestyle is mine now.

Posted 8 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.