The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

Easy, FUNNY C++ programming books?

(56 posts)
  • Started 9 years ago by chustar
  • Latest reply from jack7h3r1pp3r
  • Topic Viewed 4449 times

chustar

A little backstory: I learnt a little Java in high school but didn't really like the book we used. It was too dry. Now, I'm trying to learn C++. I would like a book that assumes I'm a beginner with no previous experience (this allows me to think about concepts the C++ way, not the Java way, not sure if this makes sense...) Anyway, I recently stumbled upon the Poignant Guide to Ruby, a hilarious book that doesn't feel like a dry-as-a-mummified-corpse textbook. (But I don't want to learn Ruby so...)
Is there a funny beginners book to C++?
Thanks in advance!

Posted 9 years ago

Scott

C++ For Dummies?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0764568523

Posted 9 years ago

jack7h3r1pp3r

what would be a good programming languge to learn or like the most use or what?

Posted 9 years ago

whs

Depends what you want to do. C++ seems to be the most used for normal programming. But if you never wrote a program, you might have to get used to the logic flow of things.

Posted 9 years ago

jack7h3r1pp3r

i have alittle c++ under my belt but not really that much like i can program a calculator with one function (maybe alittle more but not much just an ex.)

Posted 9 years ago

jack7h3r1pp3r

so c++ is like the main programming language then

Posted 9 years ago

whs

I think so. Btw: you can edit your posts. See the blue "EDIT" under your posts. No need to have 2 posts within 1 minute.

Posted 9 years ago

jack7h3r1pp3r

ya i guess its just faster to write a new post in the box ya know

umm my internet is really slow so it takes a while for more pages to load that is why it is faster to do it the other way but i will try to do it this way k and i under stand your reasoning so i will try to remember thx for the heads up

Posted 9 years ago

whs