The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse


How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

(Solved) - Does this PSU have all the wires I need?

(52 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by Assassin2050
  • Latest reply from Assassin2050
  • Topic Viewed 2823 times

Assassin2050
Posts: 58

I recently put a post about if the PSU can use 2 seperate 6 pins from different pairs on 1 EVGA Superclocked GTX 570. Now I wanna check with the geeks if It also has wires for these other parts (Besides the 2 6 pins for the GPU) :

1 DVD/CD Drive
1 HDD
1 SDD
1 MOBO
3 Case fans
...Pretty much it besides the GPU and its obv it has for the Mobo..just not too sure about maybe the DVD drive and the 2 storage devices... Thanks!

Link:
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....llFullInfo

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Has (6) SATA connectors for the Drives and DVDs.

The PSU will work for your Build.

Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LadyFitzgerald
Posts: 2232

You should have enough cables. That PSU has two SATA power cables with three SATA power connectors on each cable. You need one SATA power connector each for the DVD/CD drive, the HDD, and the SSD (unless you are runnung legcy equipment that use four pin Molex connectors) so you have plenty of cables/connectors.

It has one peripheral cable that has 4 four pin Molex connectors and a floppy connector on the end. Each one of the Molex connectors can be used to run a case fan (the MOBO also often has ports for running the fans that are often speed controlled according to temperature). You will probably need adapters to go from three or four pin fan connectors to the Molex connectors (some fans have Molex connectors instead of three or four pin connectors). If you are running legacy drives that use Molex power connectors, you can use a "Y" adapter to power two devices from one Molex connector. You will not need the floppy connector unless using a legacy drive that needs one.

The PSU has both a 24 pin MOBO connector that can be split to work with a 20 pin socket, if needed, and an eight pin ATX connector that also can be split in case the MOBO uses a four pin connector.

Edit: I was watching TV while writing this so Rick posted before I finished.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Thank you very much too all for the information :) (For some reason I still dont feel 100% sure about the GPU. It needs 2 6pins for power, but that PSU has 2 pairs of 6+2, GR1M said I can leave the 2 hanging and use them seperatly :) ) Theres no space for risk, I need everything to be perfect 101%.

~Closed

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LadyFitzgerald
Posts: 2232

GR1M is correct, you can leave the two hanging. You can cut them off if it really bothers you but I would suggest not doing so in case you ever upgrade to a card that does need them.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

LadyFitzgerald Thank you for confirming :) I feel more comfortable And sure now. So know im sure that all the parts fit, are good, and have the correct wires. Great!

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LadyFitzgerald
Posts: 2232

Just keep in mind you may need adapters between the devices and the cable connectors, especially the fans (some fans come with the adapters).

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

I'm very sorry for bugging you guys but once again I changed my mind...I found another PSU with a GOLD Award and it seems better than the Corsair one:

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6817341017

So I checked the specs and should be good for
-1 Mobo
-2 x6 pins for GPU
-1 HDD and 1 SSD and 1 DVD/CD Drive

Correct me if i'm wrong but i'm right...right? And what would you guys recommend, that old Corrsair or this one? I want good quality (Not the best or luxury or anything) And at least 3 to 5 years of Usage... Thanks

Alex

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Assassin2050,

What is your budget ????

Why are you hung up on a 600 Watt PSU only ????

This should solve any problems you may run into now and in the future.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/.....6817139010

Give me a link to your computer case please.

Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

PICTURES
http://www.newegg.com/Product/.....6817139010

CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Well..Long story, For the PSU for budget I need it to be from probably from 65-85$ (Those prices AFTER sale or rebates so before those it will be probably around 100 something....Any way the Case is a Cooler Master Elite 430! These parts I might be getting soon im building a gaming pc, With ALL the parts (Windows 7 too) It needs to be around 1.4 K , after all the sales and rebates with ALL the parts including Tax around 1.2k. So at the most last moment its basicly 1.2k after lots of price changes :P Here are all the parts:

-Cooler master Elite 430
-Intel i5 3570k (3.4Ghz)
-Gigabye Z77M-D3H-MVP (Mobo)
-Kingston Hyper X SSD 120GB
-WD Blue 500GB HDD 32MB Cache
-Asus DVD/CD Burner
-G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB Ram (2x4)
-MSI N570GTX Twin Frozr II GeForce GTX 570 ( Not sure between the MSI Frozer GTX 570 and the EVGA gtx 570...frozer has better cooling and cheaper)
-Not 100% sure on the PSU Yet.

I got most of those parts from motherboardsorg, a reccomended gaming build for around 950$ But I added and changed some stuff alittle....

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

All from Newegg.CA not .com im in Canada...So I need alitlte help with the Right PSU for what stuff I have and a good price from newegg...and the vid card Im not sure whats better between MSI and EVGA probably MSI..

~Alex

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

...That power supply is more than I need and is like 144 after saving 25, ...So, like I said around 70-85$ after saving.. :) Thanks Sorry For the major SPAM on the forums but I need lots of help and have lots of questions im learning things :)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LadyFitzgerald
Posts: 2232

The Corsair you linked has a five year warranty; the OCZ is warrantied for only three years. The Corsair Rick linked has a seven year warranty. Granted, a semi-modular PSU will result in a case that's a bit less cluttered since you will only put in the cables you need but, if limited to a certain price range, I wouldn't give up 2/5 of a warranty to gain the modular cables, especially since you will be eliminating only one cable. It's not that difficult to tuck away any unused cables unless you are working with a really cramped case, especially if it's only one cable.

Btw, it never hurts to have more PSU than you need. A lightly loaded PSU will run cooler, both improving life of the PSU and making it a bit easier to keep the rest of the computer cooler.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

No problem at all. :) :)

Your post is for Help and is NOT spam. :)

I'll switch to http://newegg.ca and start looking up parts there.

This will carry forward to tomorrow so just stay on this topic thread.

EDIT:

After looking up the components listing, I cannot in good faith advise upon this Build.

@LF or Someone, Please take this topic.

Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

BUMP TO TOP

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

?..What do you mean? Im very happy with what kind of results I can get for around those prices, I get over 35 fps on ULTRA bf3 1980x1080 from what Ive researched the last month...Im pretty much quit perfect with the parts but still alittle twichy with that PSU...I dont know it seems so good and perfect but the price..I might squish it in there somehow..And the GPU is good and has 2 fans instead of the EVGA with 1, but its 10'' something..will it fit in the Elite 430 case without bumbing into wires or the thing in the front slots? (HDD,SSD,DVD)

Thanks Il keep in touch

~Alex

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

I dont think the 750W PSU Rick metioned will fit...its 5.9 on the lenght if you were to look from the side were you would plug the power in, but from Cooler master, It says on the back of the case 5.4''....Not sure I need a ton of correction probably..

(http://www.coolermaster-usa.com/product.php?category_id=19&product_id=2989)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Update: My bad the letters are very small, 6.4'' ;D

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Last thing, This ram seems alittle...not so low profile...will it get stuck or sortof squished with the CPU Cooler? Or just a normal fit...

Ram: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6820231445

CPU Heatsink: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6835103065

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

PSU (Standard) $85
CORSAIR CX Series CX750 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6817139040

RAM 8GB (Standard) $47
CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX8GX3M2B1600C9
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6820233202

OR

Ram 16GB (Standard) $84
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CML16GX3M4A1600C9B
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....#38;Page=1

Heat Sink Cooler $35
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 "Heatpipe Direct Contact" Long Life Sleeve 120mm CPU Cooler Compatible Intel Core i5 & Intel Core i7
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6835103065

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Would you me like to finish the Build complete with links ????

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Sorry but Im confused...

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

I want to keep these parts:

-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827135204

-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119227

-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127682

-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139010

-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231445

-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128554CVF

-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820239045

-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136767

-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103065

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So what exatcly is your point? I researched for over 2 weeks and all those parts should work together (Except for other minor conscers im not sure about)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Have posted above

the PSU

Two choices of Ram

And the cooler.

What else do you need help with ???

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Oh, I already chose that PSU you recommended to me before remember? The 750w one you linked me.

And Ram im asking for if will it get squished in with the CPU cooler (Probably not just checking)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Use this $85 PSU
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6817139040

This $47 Ram
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6820233202

This $35 Cooler
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6835103065

The Cooler will fit and not cover the Ram.

Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Like I said...Im happy with the other one you gave me especially that its Modular, but il keep this one in mind incase I really am going to need to change it to this one.

Also your telling me to use that ram because (yes) the one I linked is going to be stuck or (no)??

I know I know im retarded just stay with me LOL

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

The PSU for $85 bucks I posted will save you some money.

The Ram you picked has Non-standard Timings so you will have to remember to set the Bios Timings MANUALLY and NOT to AUTO which is fine if you can remember.

Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Timings for..ram? well im not there yet you obv have a ton of years of experience more than me...Whatever you said it doesn't sound good. Isnt there really any other ram similar to that?

Tell me if these will fit under the CPU cooler -AND- has that standard timing thingy so it is AUTO I dont want to do the manually.

-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231455
or
-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231468
or
-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231314
or
-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233144
or
-http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145345
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Out of all of them which is the best speed/quality/Fitting under the CPU cooler AND the Auto timing thingy...And what else makes it better...

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

These will work as the timings are correct and in the SPD of the ram modules.
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6820231314
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6820233144
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6820145345

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Thanks, so those 3 ones have good timings...specs..speed.whatever and will fit under the Cooler master Hyper 212? If so then PERFECT! il probably choose the 3rd link you gave (http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145345) as it will match the MOBO :)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Oh great, over all almost 1.5K!!!!!!!!!!!!

Im probably going to need to use that 85$ PSU You Most recently linked...How many wires will be hanging though?? with 1HDD 1SDD 1DVD 1MOBO 2X6for gpu and pretty much it...Its not so easy getting cable management with the ELite 430 but the less cables hanging around the easier :)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Great !!!

The Cooler fits side ways like this picture but should blow out of the back of the case.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Is the Ram in that picture the same model as the one I chose? :

(http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145345)

Also what about that 85$ PSU Question? Its cheaper but isnt Modular, so how many wires would be hanging with what parts im going to use...

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Use this kit and set the ram clock to 1600 in the Bios.
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6820145345
Default is 1333 and XMP profile is 1600 in SPD.

The $85 PSU will work fine with the other parts you have chosen.

Faster Cas, Ras and clock speed timings memory is OK BUT the clock may default down to 1600 because of the Intel chipset on many motherboards so best for new Builders to use Standard Ram on Inexpensive First Builds.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

.........Getting confused again...that kit you said to use is the one I chose..Its already 1600...

OH!! I found this (http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233170) very similar slighty more expensive which is tottaly fine with me and its "DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 15000)"

^ That also has the AUTO thing right? Including better cas ras and clock speeds whatever it is hahah...and obv its the same size as the other one so its still going to fit fine under the Hyper 212 :)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

READ first post in FEEDBACK TAB.

If you don't Understand Ram Timings inside out, you are going to be in trouble unless you use Standard Ram as I posted above.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

I use the word clock for simplicity but we're really talking about transfer speed and a lot things here.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DDR3_SDRAM

Better Explanation than I can do.

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com.....Timings/26

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Oh...Yea I saw that first post..well cant I still get those and I could learn or get help how to go to bios and set it to what it should be? The Z77m-D3H-MVP should recognize it..but if not il try to figure out how to set the ram to right speed on bios...

Basically, your saying that the ram you posted is simple just snap it In and works automatically as it should and shouldn't require changed from bios
and that the one I posted might need to change from bios to get designated results...

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

So out of those 2..whats the Ultimate pair of Ram you would reccomend which has all the atributes I need?

-Auto Timing
-Good specs
-and none of that problem were its not set to what it should be..

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

NO !!!

A Builder MUST setup the Bios according to parts specs.

You MUST READ the MANUALS that ship with the motherboard and all other parts that have one.

If you don't have time to read and learn, then is Best that you purchase a Pre-Built OEM machine.

For your Motherboard, Parts, Budget and Expertize this ram would work best.

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/P.....6820145345

Rick P.

Accepted Answer · Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

No i'm obviously going to be 100% careful and study all the manuals and things....

So which one is better out of the 2??

The CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B
or
The CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 15000) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9B

They both need setup from the Bios and Both fit under the Hyper 212 but the 2nd one is basicly stronger and faster judging from the specs...And both need to be set up to original speeds.like the 1600 I read on the reviews that originally is 1330 or something..notsure and the 1866 is 1600, so both require to add more Clock speed. but eventaully the second one is better. Correct my if im wrong :)

Alex~

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Link above your post.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Oh wow im blind....haha So for me your saying the best would be the --CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

...So its fast good simple nice and good price, and it still requires proper set up in the bios to get expected results.. Thanks!

Over all so far, for the power supply I really liked that modular one, but my budget was sortof stopping it, the other 750w you gave me is good too, I chose that one...And ram, Good fitting, good pricing, speed, clock and best for my Mobo..

What else can I say I guess its all good? xP Thanks for all the help Rick ( I might continue some other minor questions and concerns in this thread)

~Alex.D

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Wow im not feeling so good again! LOL check out reviews on the Ram u most reccomended to me, here are what some said:

" Cons: Says I'm overclocking if I set the thingy to 1600 instead of 1333... "

or

"Might be a little too tall for some cpu coolers. Make sure you pick your ram wisely before doing any impulse ricing."

and

"Not many. depending on your CPU heatsink, the tall ram heatsinks sometimes might get in the way.""

But you even put a pic up that it will fit. So then...Im being very extra cautions of anything I see ..Those comments got me cautious again lol

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

The CONS are usually from first time Builders that didn't bother to plan ahead and research their Build.

I think you have and will enjoy your Build.

Maybe when times get better and have more money, we can Build one of the $3000 Rigs together. (LOL) :) :)

Rick P. :)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

XD Lol :) yep. (I still feel 1% tinty tiny not comfortable with those Comments about the fact that its big and might get in the way O_O Dont know why its bugging me so bad ;o)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Ok. Set. Everything works out, now I just need a little help with the GPU maybe....and some case air flow help ;D

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Hello... o.o...il proobably start a new post on some other things like the GPU size and some airflow setup and stuff..not much left I've planned ahead so much :) Thanks once again.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Oops!~~~ Sorry I accidently pressed report :(

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Assassin2050
Posts: 58

Explain this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nld03Y_RvBU

:) :) :)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.