The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

command prompt: stupid geek tricks

(27 posts)
  • Started 8 years ago by Dcw329
  • Latest reply from jmr
  • Topic Viewed 13022 times

Dcw329

im kinda new to the command prompt (i just never use/needed it)... so i thought it would be cool to start a thread about cool tricks you can do with it... one of the tricks i found was winsat

'winsat aurora'
'winsat d3d ___'

if you have anything cool that you can do with the command prompt, post it... we can all share our tricks, and check out new ones...

Posted 8 years ago

jack7h3r1pp3r

well i'm not really sure that there really are many cmd tricks persay because the one you posted just starts the graphics engine thing in vista but the only one that i know of is how you can watch star wars in the cmd prompt i think there was a thread on it somewhere in the forums.

i guess another one that i know of is how when i was in high school we used to ping the blocked websites to get their ip's and the school only blocked the addresses and not the ip's so we could get to the blocked site from school but it's not really a trick though lol

this topic could be fun though :D

Posted 8 years ago

raphoenix

Dcw329,
You are right !! Your Topic is Cool !!!
I keep forgetting that about half (just a pure guess) of our group never (had) to run computers in a command type of environment (Dos and Older).
Kindest Regards,
Rick P. ♥ :)

Posted 8 years ago

jack7h3r1pp3r

ya i am currently learning the terminal in linux because to do certain things i just have to know it :D

@rick well i kinda know some cmd but i have never used a full dos system before though lol i've always wanted to try it though :)

Posted 8 years ago

Dcw329

i saw the starwars cmd somewere... it wasnt in the cmd though... it was on a website... but it would be cool to figure out how to get it into the command prompt...

Posted 8 years ago

jack7h3r1pp3r

Dcw329