The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse


How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

(Solved) - BOOTMGR is missing! Windows 7 Ultimate

(33 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by sharky006
  • Latest reply from vistamike
  • Topic Viewed 2002 times

sharky006
Posts: 40

Hello HOW-TO Geeks,

i am new here, but experienced with computers. Yesterday a fried asked me if I can test on his PC if I can install Mac OS X Snow Leopard. He had a free partition so I used a legal SL Disk to format and install it there. However I figured out SL wont work on his system so I decided to uninstall it. I noticed that when I boot up his PC SL would automaticlly load, whitout giving me an option to start the pre-installed Windows 7 Ultimate. I tought removing/erasing the disk where SL was installed would solve the startup problem. However after erasing and restarting Windows gives me the error as in the title : "BOOTMGR is missing! Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart".

Tried with the original Windows 7 DVD to Startup repair - Doesent reconize any problems.
Tried with the original Windows 7 DVD and CMD to Bootrec/Fixboot - It wont show up BOOTMGR is missing anymore but it wont load either!!
Tried again with the original Windows 7 DVD to Startup repair getting a messege the "Installed Windows 7 is not compatible with the Startup repair".

What am i able to do? WITHOUT, so pleas WITHOUT, deleting C: Partition and reinstalling Windows, because on the C: Partition there is many important data!

Thank you,
Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Hi Richard. Before you do anything else, back up the data to an external drive. See,
https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/use-ubuntu-live-cd-to-backup-files-from-your-dead-windows-computer/

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Hello LH, thank you for the link, ill do a backup as soon as possible! But after that, am I able to do something without deleting the partition. And I want to add the note that I just realized that Windows Drive isnt C: andymore it jumped to G: and the empty partition is C:! How is that possible? Never remarked something like that? Is there a solution to get my Windows dirve back to C: so that anything is like it was before? My mistake trying to install Mac on a PC.

Thanks again for the link,
Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

OK. Whilst you are it, get a copy (free) of this. I think you may need it,
http://www.partitionwizard.com.....nager.html

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Done downloading. Now what?
Thanks again for your help and support!
Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

You need to burn the PW .iso to CD as well.

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Ok, but its an .exe file. How you mean that burning it as an .iso file on an CD? Lost you here. Sorry.
Thanks again.
Best Regards Richard.

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Um, I think you downloaded the wrong one. Look here, scroll down a bit for the freeware version,
http://www.partitionwizard.com/download.html
Bootable CD

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Ah, yes now I found the .iso. Done downloading and burning. Next step is?
I want to thank you again, maybe its pissing off but I think its the only way to thank you!!
So thanks again
Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Have you got all the data off the disk yet ?

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Yes, all is off now! So? Tell me what to do, after that I got some work in town so ill reply in 1 or 2 hours.

Thank you again for your help!
Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

So if C is now empty, and that's where W7 was origionally, boot up with the PW CD, delete C, and rename G to C.
Then boot up as normal. Hopefully that should do it.

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Ok, thank you ill try out now and see if it works. Will post after the try.
Thanks again very very much!
Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Ok, so I tried with the bootable CD and I get an error
"ISOLINUX 3.75 2009-04-16 ETCD Copyright (C) 1994-2009 H. Peter Anvin et al isolinux: Disk error 05, AX = 42E2, drive 9F
Boot failed: press a key to retry..."

Thats it. What am I able to do?
Thank you
Best regards Richard.

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Try burning the CD at half the maximum speed.
If that doesn't work, it could be a bad download. It happens.

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Ok, will try it out, thanks!
Best regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Ok, so got the exact same error. Why is that? You think its a bad download? Where else can I download it from to check if thats the reason?
Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Try the download from here,
http://download.cnet.com/Parti.....62200.html

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Hello, ok but thats an .exe again. Cant find any .iso there. So?
Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
vistamike
Posts: 10945

Richard, on the left hand side 'BOOTABLE CD'
That is the .iso

Mike

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Ok, found another download Partition Wizard Bootable CD 6.0, burning it right now with the lowest burn speed 4x. If that doesent works either, what am I able to do?
Thanks!
Best Regards Richard

EDIT: Ok, so the PW CD now finally works! Trying now your steps of deleting C: and renaming G: to C:. See if that works. Will reply with result.

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Ok, so didnt work as I expected. I could not rename the G: partition, deleted the C: one, set the boot order of the harddisks (He has 2 @ 500gb) to the second where the windows is. Same error BOOTMGR is missing.
Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
germ-x
Posts: 5310

Can you post a screenshot of the drives from PW?

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
nt0xik8ed
Posts: 768

show all your drives like germ-x said so we can see what you have. also you may need to unplug any other card readers, printers, flash drives, hard drives etc. from your computer and motherboard and reboot into your c: drive. also check the boot order in your bios and reset it to your hard drive with the operating system. fairly simple to repair. then once you've booted into windows restart a few times to be sure. then one by one start plugging you peripherals back in. more than likely your computer is trying to boot from a printer, card reader or a backup hard drive.

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

OK, thank you all for your answers! Ill post a picture as soon as possible. @nt0xik8ed I dont think its from a card reader beacause plugged in is only the PS2 Mouse PS2 Keyboard, Monitor and Power Cord. Bootorder is also set. But it wont work. Tried with PW to rebuild the MBR and an error message poped up saying there is no windows folder found on the drive, but there is one! Checked with Ubuntu Live CD.

Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
germ-x
Posts: 5310

When your working with PW there is an option / feature to view inside all listed drives. It is in one of the menu pulldowns.
Take a look see at your drives until you seel the folders / files then you will know what drive / partition your dealing with.

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

OK, Problem is solved now. Guys you wanna know how? I tell you how. First for you to know I used a original Windows 7 x64 Ultimate DVD. As I told you when I attempt startup repair it says the Windows version from the DVD does not match my operating system. You know how I fixed that!? First of all I wanna say f*** Microsoft. Second I downloaded a pirated version of Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and burned .iso to a DVD and voila startup repair works and fixes my system.

So why does the pirated version work and the original not?!

THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR GREAT HELP AND SUPPORT! GREAT FORUM THANK YOU GUYS AGAIN!
Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Richard. Please be well aware that pirated versions can contain more than just the OS. Your computer may now be at great risk.

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

Yes, I know that but it should be an untouched MSDN. Downloaded from a trusted not free-for-all torrent site. The number of torrents with trojans or other stuff there are 1/1000. Could you tell me why the pirated one worked and the official not?

Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
LH
Posts: 20002

Please can you click on Moderator, to the left of this post, and email the link from where you downloaded it from.

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
vistamike
Posts: 10945

trusted MSDN torrent? ok link to the site please.
If it'e illegal, no more help here.
I'm thinking keygens. And they are bad, I can assure you
Mike

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
sharky006
Posts: 40

There is no keygen. And if one is there I dont need it. I needed it only to boot up and fix, not to install and activate:) So no answer to my question?
Cannot link you to the site, its private, you need an invitation to acces it. Romanian Torrent Site
Best Regards Richard

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 
vistamike
Posts: 10945

sharky006. You not going to last long here then!

Mike

Posted 6 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.