The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse


How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

Best way of getting your own web server?

(34 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by danbywinby
  • Latest reply from ispalten
  • Topic Viewed 1191 times

danbywinby
Posts: 46

Hi

What is the best way of getting your own web server? Is it better to have a virtual one which you pay a company for or is tit better to have your own web server running in your own house?

What are your thoughts on this?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Xhi
Posts: 6298

The big question would be can you get from your service provider the bandwidth at your home location to support the traffic you expect. Then there is, of course some labor required to maintain the server. Do you have the time or would that time be better spent on your project?

The Upload and download speeds at your home location is also a question to be looked into. If your upload speed is slow then your response to consumers will be slow. If you are just doing it for relatives rather than the general public then it would probably work well at home.

Those are just a couple of the considerations.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

My home is out int he countryside so the internet isnt that great but for my uses it is perfect but if i was add a web server it probably wouldn't cope very well and for maintenance at the moment i would probably have the time to learn the skills and stuff. And to start with the websites would probe be just for m for learning new skills to do with creating websites and stuff but over time the audience could get bigger.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
vistamike
Posts: 10945

running a web server from home with little bandwidth (which has to be paid for) would slow you down even further.
In this case I would be looking for a hosting site to enable this.
There are many but you would pay a fee, not unreasonable

Mike

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Xhi
Posts: 6298

Then if it gets too big you can always move it to a web site host on line. It all depends on what skills you are wanting/willing to learn. There are also free web sites available on places like Google sites .

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

Well at the moment i am hosting my websites on my mates web-server by i would eventually like to host them myself either on my own server in my home or on my own virtual server.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Many ISP's do NOT allow you to run your own Web Server. Many routinely scan for PORT 80 open as well. Some do have dedicated 'home' server that you can use.

I'd check with the ISP before investing any time in this.

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

Well in that case then i guess I better go forget a home server then.

So how would I go about getting my own virtual web server? Also my mates one has windows server 2012 and FTP, remote desktop access and IIS and PHP,MySQL so I would like to have all this in my own server aswell if possible.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

It isn't just 'home' server the ISP may not allow, it is ANY server.

You don't need a server for Remote Desktop Access either. FTP either, it uses a different port, but ISP may not allow that either.

A server is really just a computer that allows connects to specific ports via the Internet and has an Internet fixed IP Address (usually) that someone knows to access the services it provides.

With slow internet speeds running one can be problematic for those trying to connect to it as well and if it is running on the machine you are using, it will degrade your usage.

Is your mate on your same ISP? How is your mate's performance?

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

I don't what ISP my mate is using but yeah I know you said that some ISPs might not allow servers do that why I said I wouldn't try running a server from my house but buying one from a company and using that to host my websites

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

Does anybody on here have a virtual web server which they have bought from a company and would recommend them??

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Xhi
Posts: 6298

Not sure what you mean by virtual web server, but I have two websites at GoDaddy and have been quite happy with them, if that is what you mean.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

No that's not what I'm looking for I think what my mate called it was a VPS but he accesses it through Remote Desktop and it looks and works like a normal windows 8 pc but running windows server 2012 not windows 8

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

VPN? Virtual Private Network?

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

Might be a VPN but I'm pretty sure he said VPS but either way like I said he accesses it through Remote Desktop and it runs windows server 2012 and he has websites hosted on it. And that's what I would like to get

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Xhi
Posts: 6298

You mean that you are looking for someone with a computer with windows server 2012 that will let you VPN into it for free.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

Well no cus there is no way somebody is gonna let me do that lol

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
warlock
Posts: 4100

You say it's your mate. Can't you get more information from him? I don't think there is a free ride for what you want.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

No cus my mate has his given to him by one of his mates and I don't remember saying anything bout free my mates said he pays £10 a month. I know I'm gonna have to pay for what I want and I'm happy to pay.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Xhi
Posts: 6298

You can get a GoDaddy for $5.00US/mo. cheaper if you buy by year or multiple years.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

But GoDaddy doesn't allow you to access it via Remote Desktop. All I want is to find a company which will sell you a server which you can access via Remote Desktop, I want this so that I can host more than one website on it at a time.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Xhi
Posts: 6298

What does remote desktop have to do with a web site? I'm not understanding what you want to do. At some point you must access a website via a browser. Unless your purpose is to avoid restrictions on the computer you are using by a boss, parent or teacher. Those type of requests we do not address here.

What is preventing you from accessing a website normally?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

I want a web server so that I can host multiple websites and multiple domains not just one website or one domain

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

You do that by getting more than one web site, at different providers even if you want. Still don't understand why you'd want different domains? That are usually in terms of specific machines connected, not web sites?

What do I (and others it seems) not understand about what you wish to do? Please fully explain with full details, that would probably help? Maybe it is technical terms you are using that are wrong in this scenario?

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

Sorry I must be explaining it wrong I shall try and explain it again.

My mate has his own web server which he pays £10 a month for he cannot physically access the computer he can only access it through Remote Desktop or F.T.P. He hosts multiple websites on it for example he had one for yandles garage and one for andy woodgate driver training each with their own unique URLS e.g. Www.yandlesgarage.co.uk. He also has his personal website on there and I also have two websites on there. These websites also have PHP MySQL on them. The computer runs Windows Server 2012.

I want something similar to what my mate has got.

Has that helped to explain it better??

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
GuiltySpark
Posts: 4024

Aren't they using https://www.123-reg.co.uk/ ?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

Yes for their website address but the actual website is hosted on my mates server

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
GuiltySpark
Posts: 4024

????

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

I don't think it is 'his server' but his personal space on 123-reg.co.uk.

Most 'hosts' publish YOUR website. You FTP to a SPECIFIC folder on the web site via an FTP address that directs you to the proper folder on the host server. That company which OWNS the server PUBLISHES your FOLDER as an IP Address and you generally have an INDEX.HTML as the entry point to that folder, unless it is a pure FTP repository. Difference is WHICH port is used, 21h or 80h.

You update/change files by using FTP to put the new files (or delete one) to the host server.

You can have as many 'unique' web sites with different names on a host computer, such as the ones on 123-reg.co.uk, as you want and they are all independent. You will have to 'purchase' each one individually. I don't think most hosts will allow a master 'menu' where you would come into the host via a browser and see 2 or more companies you could select.

Does this help explain how it works or are you trying to do something different.

I suspect you are confusing Remote Desktop with possibly opening a web site with a browser OR an FTP site with an FTP client which allows you to delete/add files?

Remote desktop would allow you to RUN the remote computer from YOUR computer. That means execute programs as if you were sitting at the computer. Add/delete/move/edit almost any file on the computer as well, and I don't think a hosting company would allow this.

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

It is definitely his server he connects to it through Remote Desktop he can run applications in it like notepad++ to edit the websites, it runs windows server 2012 and it does work like he is sat at the computer plus I have my own account on there to access the server to edit my sites. The website addresses are provided by 123-reg but the actual website is hosted on his server.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
warlock
Posts: 4100

Way..........back I asked, if it is your mate why don't you just ask him?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Well, we seem to be getting nowhere here? Why not contact www.123-reg.co.uk and ask them how to do it?

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
danbywinby
Posts: 46

Right guys i have talked to my mate and he has told me that basically what he has is just a standard server with windows server 2012 installed on it and he accesses it via remote desktop the server is not owned by 123-reg. Does this make it a bit clearer?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Yes, HE is running the Web Server from his home probably. Check with YOUR ISP to see if you can do this.

I would assume the Web Server he has is near him but he has no display and maybe keyboard/mouse attached and using Remote Desktop is how he controls it.

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.