The Oculus Quest 2 Headset
Meta

Your Oculus Quest 2 comes with the Oculus Browser, which will let you browse the web privately without keeping a record of your browsing history. Here’s how to quickly enable private browsing on both the Quest 1 and Quest 2 headsets.

How Does Private Browsing Work on the Oculus Quest 2?

Much like private browsing in a desktop web browser such as Google Chrome, Private Mode in Oculus Browser isn’t a way to conceal your browsing history from your ISP, business, school, or websites you visit.

Instead, it will keep other people who use Oculus Browser on your Oculus Quest 1 or 2 headset from seeing your browsing activity while you were using Private Mode. When you exit Private Mode, Oculus Browser will erase browsing history, cookies, site data, and temporary files created during the session.

Also, it’s important to know that while private browsing on the Quest, any bookmarks you create and files you download will still be visible to other users of your Quest device. So for maximum privacy, don’t bookmark or download anything sensitive.

How to Browse Privately on the Oculus Quest 2

First, open the Oculus Browser on your Quest 1 or Quest 2 device (these same instructions work for both). You can find it in your app library, which you can access by clicking the grid of nine dots in the universal menu near the bottom of your viewpoint.

Click "Browser" in your Oculus app library.

Advertisement

When Oculus Browser opens, click the three-dots menu button in the upper-right corner of the window.

In the Oculus Browser, click the three-dots menu button in the upper-right corner of the window.

In the menu that appears, click “Enter Private Mode.”

In the Oculus Browser, click "Enter Private Mode."

Once your enter Private Mode, you’ll see a message that tells you about how the mode works. While browsing in Private Mode, you’ll see a purple icon (of a hat and glasses) in the upper-right corner of the window.

When you’re done and you want to quit private browsing, click the three-dots menu button in the corner of the browser window. In the menu that appears, select “Exit Private Mode.”

In the Oculus Browser, click "Exit Private Mode."

After that, you’ll be back in normal browsing mode. Any browsing activity from now on will be saved in your history, which you can clear by clicking the menu button and selecting “Clear Browsing Data.” Stay safe!

RELATED: The Oculus Quest 2 Is Great, and It's the Future of VR

Profile Photo for Benj Edwards Benj Edwards
Benj Edwards is an Associate Editor for How-To Geek. For over 15 years, he has written about technology and tech history for sites such as The Atlantic, Fast Company, PCMag, PCWorld, Macworld, Ars Technica, and Wired. In 2005, he created Vintage Computing and Gaming, a blog devoted to tech history. He also created The Culture of Tech podcast and regularly contributes to the Retronauts retrogaming podcast.
Read Full Bio »

The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support How-To Geek.