Google Classroom logo shown on a smartphone screen in a jean pocket
dennizn/Shutterstock.com

If you no longer participate in a particular class on Google Classroom, there’s a way to leave that class. You can do this from both your desktop and your mobile phone. We’ll show you how.

Note: You can only leave an active Google Classroom; you can’t leave an archived class. Additionally, when you leave a class, your class files remain in Google Drive.

RELATED: What is Google Classroom, and Who Should Use It?

Leave a Class in Google Classroom on Desktop

To unenroll yourself from a class on a Windows, Mac, Linux, or Chromebook computer, use the Google Classroom website.

Start by opening a web browser on your computer and launching the Google Classroom site. Sign in to your account on the site.

On the site, find the class to leave. In that class’ top-right corner, click the three dots.

Click the three dots in the top-right corner of the class.

In the three-dots menu, click “Unenroll.”

Select "Unenroll" from the menu.

You will see an “Unenroll” prompt. Here, click “Unenroll.”

Select "Continue" in the "Unenroll" prompt.

And you are all set. You have now been removed from your selected class on Google Classroom. To become part of that class again, you will have to rejoin it, like you did the first time.

RELATED: 8 Ways to Stay Focused in Virtual College Courses

Leave a Google Classroom on Mobile

If you are on an iPhone, iPad, or Android phone, make use of the Google Classroom app to leave a class.

Advertisement

Start by launching the Google Classroom app on your phone.

On the app’s main screen, find the class to leave. In that class’ top-right corner, tap the three dots.

Tap the three dots in the top-right corner of the class.

In the three-dots menu, tap “Unenroll.”

Tap "Unenroll" in the three-dots menu.

From the “Unenroll” prompt, select “Unenroll.”

Tap "Unenroll" in the "Unenroll" prompt.

And you have successfully removed yourself from the selected class on Google Classroom.

Like this, you can also quickly and easily remove yourself from a Discord server.

RELATED: How to Leave a Discord Server

Profile Photo for Mahesh Makvana Mahesh Makvana
Mahesh Makvana is a freelance tech writer who specializes in writing how-to guides. He has been writing tech tutorials for over a decade now. He’s written for some of the prominent tech sites including MakeUseOf, MakeTechEasier, and Online Tech Tips.
Read Full Bio »

The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support How-To Geek.