Venmo logo under a magnifying glass
Postmodern Studio/Shutterstock.com

Are you no longer interested in transacting with Venmo? If so, consider deleting your account so nobody can access your financial details. It’s easy to delete a Venmo account and we’ll show you how.

RELATED: How to Make Your Venmo Transactions Private

Know This Before Closing a Venmo Account

Before you delete your Venmo account, download a copy of all your transactions for your records. You won’t be able to access these details once your account is removed.

Secondly, transfer any available funds in your Venmo account to your bank account. If you don’t do this, you will then have to contact Venmo to get your funds.

Lastly, know that Venmo will delete any business profiles tied to your account when you delete your Venmo account. If you only want to cancel your business profile and not your personal one, contact Venmo.

RELATED: How to Delete Your Old Online Accounts (and Why You Should)

Close a Venmo Account

To delete a Venmo account, you will have to use Venmo’s website; the mobile app does not offer the option to remove an account.

Advertisement

To start, open a web browser on your device and launch the Venmo site. Sign in to your account on the site.

From the sidebar on the left, select “Settings.”

Select "Settings" from the left sidebar on Venmo.

In the expanded “Settings” menu, click “Profile.”

Click "Profile" in the "Settings" menu.

On your “Profile” page, at the bottom, click “Close My Venmo Account.”

Select "Close My Venmo Account" from the bottom of the "Profile" page.

You will see a “Close Your Venmo Account” prompt. Here, click “Next.”

Hit "Next" in the "Close Your Venmo Account" prompt.

A “Closing Your Venmo Account” page will open. On this page, if you have not already, download your account statement by clicking “Download CSV.”

Then, at the top, click the “Next” button.

Select "Next" on the "Closing Your Venmo Account" page.

Venmo will display a final prompt asking if you really want to close your account. To continue, click the “Close Account” button.

Warning: Make sure you really want to close your account before hitting the button as there won’t be any further prompts.

Click "Close Account" in the prompt.

And that’s all. Your Venmo account is now deleted.


Want to get rid of your PayPal account as well? It’s easy.

RELATED: How to Delete Your PayPal Account (and Transaction History)

Profile Photo for Mahesh Makvana Mahesh Makvana
Mahesh Makvana is a freelance tech writer who specializes in writing how-to guides. He has been writing tech tutorials for over a decade now. He’s written for some of the prominent tech sites including MakeUseOf, MakeTechEasier, and Online Tech Tips.
Read Full Bio »

The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support How-To Geek.