Google "G" Logo on a gradient background

Are you looking to de-Google, or maybe you’re just switching to a new account? If don’t need Google’s services anymore, you can delete your Google account for good. We’ll show you how to do just this.

Note: Keep in mind that deleting a Gmail account and deleting a Google account are two different things. If you only want to get rid of Gmail but keep your Google account, we have a guide explaining how to do just that.

RELATED: How to Delete Your Gmail Account Without Deleting Your Google Account

What Happens When You Delete Your Google Account

When you delete your Google account, you lose access to all your content stored in your account. This includes your contacts, photos, files, calendars, and everything else associated with your account.

You also can’t log in to any device with your Google account. Any subscriptions you’ve purchased with your Google account will also be lost. If you use a Chromebook, you’ll have to use a different account to log in to the device as you will not be able to use your deleted account on it.

Once your Google account is deleted, you may not be able to get it back. So, make a backup of your Google content before you proceed to delete your account.

RELATED: How to Download a Backup Archive of All Your Gmail, Calendar, Docs, and Other Google Data

How to Delete Your Google Account Permanently

To start removing your Google account, first, open a web browser on your Windows, Mac, Linux, or Chromebook computer and access the Google Account site. Here, sign in to the Google account you want to delete. If you’ve forgotten your password, it’s not hard to recover your Gmail password.

Advertisement

From the sidebar on the left of the Google Account site, select “Data & Privacy.”

Click "Data & Privacy" on the Google Account site.

On the “Data & Privacy” page, scroll down to the “More Options” section. In this section, click “Delete Your Google Account.”

Click "Delete Your Google Account" on the "Data & Privacy" page.

Google might ask you to enter your account password. Click the “Enter Your Password” field, type your password, and then click the “Next” button.

Enter the Google account password and click "Next."

You will see a “Delete Your Google Account” page. This page lists the content that will be deleted when you delete your Google account. Review this list carefully.

Review the content to be deleted on the "Delete Your Google Account" page.

When you have reviewed the list, scroll down the “Delete Your Google Account” page. At the bottom, enable both boxes and click “Delete Account.”

Warning: Make sure you really want to delete your account, as this is the last page of the account deletion process.

Click "Delete Account" on the "Delete Your Google Account" page.

Google will display a page saying that your account, as well as all its data, has been deleted.

Tip: If you’d like to try to get this deleted account back, click the “Account Support” link and then follow the steps there.

A Google account deleted.

Advertisement

And that’s all there is to permanently deleting a Google account. Very useful if you don’t want to use Google in your life anymore.


While you’re at it, learn how to delete your old online accounts. This helps you keep your data safe and secure.

RELATED: How to Delete Your Old Online Accounts (and Why You Should)

Profile Photo for Mahesh Makvana Mahesh Makvana
Mahesh Makvana is a freelance tech writer who specializes in writing how-to guides. He has been writing tech tutorials for over a decade now. He’s written for some of the prominent tech sites including MakeUseOf, MakeTechEasier, and Online Tech Tips.
Read Full Bio »

The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support How-To Geek.