Google Chromebook logo on a grey background

By default, anyone with a Google account can log in to your Chromebook and begin using the computer. If you’d like to lock it down and let only a certain group of people use your device, it’s easy to configure in Settings. Here’s how.

What You’ll Need

To restrict which users can use your Chromebook, you have to be logged in as the device’s owner account. The owner account is the first account registered to the Chromebook when it is new (or after a Powerwash reset). If you don’t have access to the owner account, you won’t be able to restrict who can use the Chromebook.

RELATED: How to Powerwash Your Chromebook if You Get Locked Out

How to Restrict Your Chromebook to Certain Users

First, log into your Chromebook with the owner account. Once logged in, open the launcher and expand the menu until you see the app icons. Click the gear icon to launch the Settings app.

In Settings, select “Security And Privacy” in the sidebar, then click “Manage Other People.”

In Settings, click "Security and Privacy," then select "Manage Other People."

In Manage Other People settings, if you want to keep people without a Google account from using your Chromebook, flip the switch beside “Enable Guest Browsing” to the off position. This is optional, but it will keep unauthorized people from using your Chromebook.

Turn off "Enable Guest Browsing."

Advertisement

Below that on the “Manage Other People” page, turn on the switch beside “Restrict Sign-in to The Following Users.”

Turn on the switch beside "Restrict Sign-in to the Following Users."

After that, you’ll see a list of users already registered to the device. To remove a user from the list, click the “X” button beside their name. To add another user, click “Add User” just below the user list and follow the menu prompts.

Click "X" to delete a user, or "Add User" to add one.

When you’re done, close Settings.

The next time you see the sign-on screen, you’ll notice that the “Add a Person” button is greyed out.ย  If you ever want to allow other users again, revisit Settings > Security and Privacy > Manage Other People and turn “Restrict Sign-in to the Following Users” to off. Stay safe!

RELATED: Chromebooks in 2021: Can One Be Your Full-Time Computer?

Profile Photo for Benj Edwards Benj Edwards
Benj Edwards is an Associate Editor for How-To Geek. For over 15 years, he has written about technology and tech history for sites such as The Atlantic, Fast Company, PCMag, PCWorld, Macworld, Ars Technica, and Wired. In 2005, he created Vintage Computing and Gaming, a blog devoted to tech history. He also created The Culture of Tech podcast and regularly contributes to the Retronauts retrogaming podcast.
Read Full Bio ยป

The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support How-To Geek.