Facebook's logo on a gradient background.

Feeling embarrassed by that Facebook photo from your younger days? No worries, you can always delete any of your uploaded photos from Facebook. We’ll show you how.

On Facebook, you can delete both your individual photos and your photo albums. Once you’ve deleted them, you can’t restore them. So, only delete the items that you really don’t wish to keep anymore. If you want to keep a local copy of your photos, make sure you download your photos from Facebook first.

The process of deleting photos is pretty much the same on both desktop (Windows, Mac, Linux, and Chromebook) and mobile (iPhone, iPad, and Android). We’ll use the Facebook website on a desktop for the demonstration.

RELATED: How to Delete Photos or Videos on an iPhone or iPad

Delete Individual Photos on Facebook

To begin deleting individual photos from your account, launch a web browser on your computer and access the Facebook site. Log in to your Facebook account if you haven’t already.

On the Facebook site, in the top-right corner, click your name.

Click your name on Facebook.

Advertisement

Facebook opens your profile page. Here, from the tabs bar beneath your name, click the “Photos” tab.

Click "Photos" on the profile page on Facebook.

In the “Photos” tab, click the “Your Photos” subtab. This opens the page where your uploaded photos are displayed.

Select "Your Photos" from "Photos" on the profile page on Facebook.

On the “Your Photos” screen, find the photo to delete. Then, in the top-right corner of that photo, click the pencil icon.

From the menu that opens upon clicking the pencil icon, select “Delete Photo.”

A “Delete Photo” prompt will open. Here, click the “Delete” button.

Select "Delete" in the "Delete Photo" prompt on Facebook.

Advertisement

And your selected photo is now deleted from your Facebook account!

If you’re on an iPhone or Android phone, you have the option to bulk delete your Facebook posts.

RELATED: How to Delete Facebook Posts in Bulk From iPhone and Android

Delete Photo Albums on Facebook

To delete a photo album (which deletes all the photos in that album) in your account, launch Facebook and access your profile page. On this page, click the “Photos” tab and then choose the “Albums” subtab.

Click "Albums" in the "Photos" menu on Facebook.

On the “Albums” page, find the album to delete. Then, in the top-right corner of that album, click the three dots.

Click the three dots in the top-right corner of an album on Facebook.

From the three-dots menu, select “Delete Album.”

Select "Delete Album" from the three-dots menu for a photo album on Facebook.

You’ll see a “Delete Album” prompt. Here, click the “Delete Album” option.

Click "Delete Album" in the "Delete Album" prompt on Facebook.

And your selected photo album is gone for good.


Did you know you can archive your Facebook posts instead of permanently deleting them? This keeps your posts accessible to you while hiding them from others.

RELATED: How to Archive Facebook Posts (without Deleting Them)

Profile Photo for Mahesh Makvana Mahesh Makvana
Mahesh Makvana is a freelance tech writer who specializes in writing how-to guides. He has been writing tech tutorials for over a decade now. He’s written for some of the prominent tech sites including MakeUseOf, MakeTechEasier, and Online Tech Tips.
Read Full Bio »

The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support How-To Geek.