Smartphone showing Tinder app logo on a red background.
rafapress/Shutterstock.com

Has the time finally come to say goodbye to Tinder? If so, it’s easy to delete your Tinder account for good. We’ll show you how to do this on the Tinder website and the Tinder mobile app.

What Happens When You Delete Your Tinder Account

When you delete your Tinder account, you lose access to your matches, messages, and any other information associated with them.

If you use a paid Tinder plan, and you purchased this plan from either Apple App Store or Google Play Store, your subscription continues even if you delete your account. You must manually cancel your subscription from the respective app store. However, if you subscribed to a paid plan from within the Tinder app on Android or from the Tinder website, your plan will be canceled when you delete your account.

RELATED: How to Cancel Tinder Gold

It’s also worth noting that, as of this writing in August 2021, Tinder’s privacy policy states that, though your profile will disappear from the Tinder app and website, the company will keep your information stored on their servers for three months after you delete your account.

Delete a Tinder Account with the Tinder App

On an iPhone or Android phone, use the Tinder app to delete your account.

Advertisement

Start by launching the Tinder app on your phone. In the app, from the bottom bar, select the profile icon (a person’s silhouette) on the far right.

On the profile screen that opens, tap “Settings.”

Select "Settings" on the profile screen in the Tinder app.

Scroll the “Settings” page all the way down. Then, at the bottom, tap “Delete Account.”

Tap "Delete Account" in "Settings" in the Tinder app.

A “Delete Account” page will open. Here, Tinder will ask that you pause your account instead of permanently deleting it. To proceed with the deletion, tap the “Delete My Account” option.

Tap "Delete My Account" on the "Delete Account" page in the Tinder app.

On the same “Delete Account” page, Tinder will ask the reason you’re leaving the app. If you don’t want to answer this question, then from the top-right corner of the page, select “Skip.”

If you’d like to give the answer, select an answer from the options on your screen.

Select a reason you are leaving Tinder in the Tinder app, or hit Skip.

And that’s all. Your Tinder account is now deleted.

In the future, if you ever want to use this dating service again, you’ll have to create a new account from scratch.

Delete a Tinder Account with the Tinder Website

If you’re on a Windows, Mac, Linux, or Chromebook computer, use the Tinder website to delete your account.

Advertisement

To start, open a web browser on your computer and launch the Tinder site. On the site, from the top-left corner, select your profile icon.

A “My Profile” section will open to the left of the site. Scroll this section all the way down, and at the bottom, click “Delete Account.”

Click "Delete Account" in the "My Profile" section on the Tinder site.

In the “Hide My Account” pop-up that opens, click “Delete My Account.”

Select "Delete My Account" from the "Hide My Account" prompt on the Tinder site.

Tinder will display one more prompt asking to confirm your choice. In this prompt, again, select “Delete My Account.”

Select "Delete My Account" in the account deletion prompt on the Tinder site.

And you’ll no longer publicly exist on Tinder!

It’s good that Tinder lets you permanently delete your account, so that nobody can find you once your account is gone. There are many reasons you’d want to do this, including catfishing and ghosting.

RELATED: What Does "Catfishing" Mean Online?

Mahesh Makvana Mahesh Makvana
Mahesh Makvana is a freelance tech writer who specializes in writing how-to guides. He has been writing tech tutorials for over a decade now. He’s written for some of the prominent tech sites including MakeUseOf, MakeTechEasier, and Online Tech Tips.
Read Full Bio »

The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support How-To Geek.