Wi-Fi symbol with X

Chromebooks are built for the internet, which means you’ve probably connected to lots of Wi-Fi networks in the past. Sometimes you might not want a Wi-Fi network saved anymore, and that’s where “forgetting” a network comes in.

When you connect to a Wi-Fi network it’s saved on your Chromebook. Every Starbucks and hotspot is stored for easy connection later on. But sometimes you just want to use a network once and never connect again. By making your Chromebook “forget” the network, it won’t be saved for later.

RELATED: How to Screenshot on a Chromebook

To get started, click the clock on the Shelf to bring up the Quick Settings panel. Then select the gear icon to open the Settings menu.

open Quick Settings and tap the gear

Next, go to the “Network” section in the Settings sidebar and tap “Wi-Fi.”

Go to the "Network" section and click "Wi-Fi."

Advertisement

You’ll see a list of all the networks you’ve connected to with your Chromebook. Find the one you want to forget and click the little arrow on the right side.

Now select the “Forget” button.

Click the "Forget" button.

That’s it! Your Chromebook will no longer automatically connect to the network. It will still appear when in range if you’d like to connect again.

RELATED: How to Get a Caps Lock Key on Your Chromebook

Joe Fedewa Joe Fedewa
Joe Fedewa is a Staff Writer at How-To Geek. He has close to a decade of experience covering consumer technology and previously worked as a News Editor at XDA Developers. Joe loves all things technology and is also an avid DIYer at heart. He has written thousands of articles, hundreds of tutorials, and dozens of reviews.
Read Full Bio »

The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support How-To Geek.