Wi-Fi logo with X

You’ve probably connected to many different Wi-Fi networks over time. So, how can you get your Android device to stop connecting to a specific network? You need to make your device “forget” it.

When you connect to a Wi-Fi network with your Android phone, it’s saved for later. That’s what allows your device to automatically connect to the network when you’re in range. If you don’t want that to happen and you don’t plan on using the network again, you can simply “forget” it.

The process for forgetting a Wi-Fi network varies slightly depending on your specific Android device. We’ll show you how it works on a Google Pixel and a Samsung Galaxy phone.

RELATED: How to Sync Wi-Fi Passwords between Chromebooks and Android

Forget a Wi-Fi Network on a Google Pixel

First, swipe down from the top of your device’s screen twice to expand the Quick Settings panel. Tap the gear icon to open the Settings menu.

Select “Network & Internet” from the Settings.

Select "Network & Internet" from the Settings.

Tap “Wi-Fi” at the top.

Tap "Wi-Fi" at the top.

Select “Saved Networks.”

Now select "Saved Networks."

You’ll see all the networks that you’ve connected to with your device. Select the one that you want to forget.

Select the network to forget.

Tap the “Forget” button.

Advertisement

The network will be removed from your list and you won’t auto-connect to it anymore.

Forget a Wi-Fi Network on a Samsung Galaxy

Forgetting a network on a Samsung Galaxy works a little differently. Swipe down once from the top of your Samsung Galaxy device’s screen, and then tap the gear icon.

Select “Connections” at the top of the Settings.

Select "Connections" at the top of the Settings.

Tap “Wi-Fi” at the top.

Tap "Wi-Fi" at the top.

Tap the three-dot menu icon in the top-right corner and select “Advanced.”

Now, select “Manage Networks.”

Now select "Manage Networks."

You’ll see all the networks that you’ve connected to with your device. Select the one that you want to forget.

Select the network to forget.

Tap the “Forget” button.

Simply tap the "Forget" button.

That’s it! You probably don’t need to forget Wi-Fi networks that often, but it’s nice to know how to do it.

RELATED: How to Track Your Data Usage on Android

Joe Fedewa Joe Fedewa
Joe Fedewa is a Staff Writer at How-To Geek. He has close to a decade of experience covering consumer technology and previously worked as a News Editor at XDA Developers. Joe loves all things technology and is also an avid DIYer at heart. He has written thousands of articles, hundreds of tutorials, and dozens of reviews.
Read Full Bio »

The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support How-To Geek.