The Apple logo.

If you have Location Services enabled for the Camera app on your iPhone or iPad, every photo you take includes GPS info about where it was taken. Starting with iOS 13, though, you can choose to share photos without location data.

Turn Off Location Data When Sharing One Photo (or Group of Photos)

To get started, open the Photos app and browse to a photo (or photos) you want to share without location data. To share multiple photos, select and tap each one, and then tap the Share button. To share a single photo, tap it, and then tap the Share button at the bottom left.

Tap the Share button in the Photos app.

In the Share menu that appears, tap “Options” at the top of the screen (it’s under the number of photos you selected).

If you see “Location Included” next to “Options,” this means location data is currently enabled for that photo or photos. We’re about to change that, though.

Tap "Options" before sharing a photo on iPhone.

In the Options menu that appears, look for the “Include” section. Toggle-Off the “Location” option for the selected photos.

If you don’t see the “Location” option here, then either location data is turned off for the Camera app (see below), or no location data is associated with that particular photo.

Toggle-Off "Location."

Tap “Done” to return to the Share menu. You should now see “No Location” under the photo selection message.

The "No Location" label in the Camera app.

Now, whether you share your photo via SMS, email, or on an app, no location data will be included.

Keep in mind, however, this method will only work for this one instance. The photo’s location info is still stored on your iPhone. If you want to share it again in the future without location info, you’ll have to repeat the process above.

RELATED: How to See Which Apps Are Tracking Your Location on iPhone

Even Better: Turn Off Location in the Camera App

If you find yourself frequently disabling the location data before sharing photos, you might want to consider turning it off in the Camera app. This way, none of your new photos will include location data.

To turn off Camera location access, open “Settings,” and then navigate to Privacy > Camera. In the “Allow Location Access” section, tap “Never.”

Note, however, that you won’t be able to take advantage of any features that rely on location data after you do this. For example, the Photos app won’t be able to show where you took your photos on a map or group photos you’ve taken by location.

The "Allow Location Access" section in the Camera app.

While any photos you take in the future won’t include GPS metadata, all of those you took before turning off this feature will still include it.

If you want to permanently remove location data from photos you’ve already taken, you’ll have to use a utility that will allow you to modify or remove each photo’s EXIF metadata. This process can be confusing, so it’s usually best left as a last resort for situations in which maintaining privacy is extremely important.

Stay safe, and good luck!

RELATED: How to See Exactly Where a Photo Was Taken (and Keep Your Location Private)

Benj Edwards Benj Edwards
Benj Edwards is a Staff Writer for How-To Geek. For over 14 years, he has written about technology and tech history for sites such as The Atlantic, Fast Company, PCMag, PCWorld, Macworld, Ars Technica, and Wired. In 2005, he created Vintage Computing and Gaming, a blog devoted to tech history. He also created The Culture of Tech podcast and regularly contributes to the Retronauts retrogaming podcast.
Read Full Bio »

The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support How-To Geek.