Slack Logo with Purple Background

Slack is one of the most popular workplace communication tools on the current market—but even still, it’s not clutter-free. You can remove some distractions by leaving old workspaces you aren’t active in anymore. Here’s how.

Go ahead and open the Slack application on your Windows PC or Mac and navigate to the workspace you’d like to leave. You can view your current workspaces in the pane on left.

Left pane showing workspaces

Select the workspace name at the top-left corner of the window.

Select workspace name

A drop-down menu will appear. Here, select “Profile & Account.”

Profile & account option in dropdown menu

Once selected, the Workspace Directory will appear on the right side of the window. Click the icon with three vertical dots that appears under your profile image.

Icon with three dots

Another drop-down menu will appear. Here, select “Account Settings.”

Account settings option

You’ll then be brought to the “Account Settings” tab of the selected Slack workspace. This tab will open in your default browser. You might have to sign in to your Slack workspace to proceed.

RELATED: How to Log All Devices Out of Your Slack Account

In this tab, scroll down until you see the “Deactivate Account” option. Be sure to read the description and its accompanying admonition. After you’ve read the information, click the “Deactivate Your Account” button to the right.

Deactivate account option

In the next screen, enter your password in the text box and click “Confirm Password.”

Enter and confirm password

A warning message will appear asking you to confirm you would like to deactivate the account. Read the content and, if you’re sure, select “Yes, Deactivate My Account.”

Click Yes, deactivate my account

Another message will appear asking if you’re really sure you want to deactivate your account. Check the box next to “Yes, I Want To Deactivate My Account” and then select “Deactivate My Account.”

Are you really sure you want to deactivate your account

You’ll then see a message telling you that you’ve successfully left the Slack workspace. To enter the workspace again, you’ll need to have the admin of the workspace add you back.

Marshall Gunnell Marshall Gunnell
Marshall Gunnell is a writer with experience in the data storage industry. He worked at Synology, and most recently as CMO and technical staff writer at StorageReview. He's currently an API/Software Technical Writer at LINE Corporation in Tokyo, Japan.
Read Full Bio »