Your Gmail account is home to more than just emails. When you log into Google, you’re opening access to Google Calendar, the Play Store, and Drive, to name just a few. To help keep that information safe, you should sign out of Gmail when you’re done—especially if you’re using a public or shared computer. Here’s how to do it.

How to Sign Out Of Gmail

In Gmail, click your profile picture at the top right of the page. In the dropdown box that opens, just click the “Sign Out” option. That’s it. You’re done.

Note that if you use multiple accounts, that dropdown will show a list of your accounts. Click the one you want to sign out from, and then use the “Sign Out” option.

 

On Public Computers, Consider Using Private Browsing

Pretty much every modern browser offers a private browsing mode. Some call it private browsing, while some (like Chrome) call it Incognito Mode. Whatever your browser calls it, it works pretty much the same way. When you open a private or incognito window, the browser does not store your browsing history, cookies, site data, or any information entered into forms.

When you close the private window, the browser “forgets” your account and history. This gives you more assurance that when you exit the window, your session is no longer accessible from that machine.

If you’re using a public computer, we highly recommend using private browsing to keep your information as safe as possible

RELATED: How to Enable Private Browsing on Any Web Browser

When Letting Someone Else Use Your Chrome Browser, Consider Using Guest Mode

In addition to private browsing, Google Chrome also offers something named Guest Mode. It works something like Incognito Mode, in that it does not save any browsing information to the computer. However, when someone is using Guest Mode, they also cannot see or change the information in any other user’s profile.

In other words, you can let a guest hit the web in your Chrome browser, safe in the knowledge that they cannot access your browsing history, saved passwords, and so on. It’s great for letting someone else get on the web or check their Gmail account.

To enable Guest Mode, click the current user’s name at the top right of the browser, and then click the “Guest” option.

This opens a new browser window for your guest to use, and you can sign out of your own account.

When your guest has finished browsing, they can click “Guest” in the top right corner, and then click the “Exit Guest” option.