00_lead_image_link_sharing

When you upload a new version of a shared file to Google Drive, the old file is not replaced, since Google Drive lets you have multiple files with the same name. That means that the newly uploaded file will have a different shareable link, which is a hassle if you want the same people to be able to access it.

However, there is an easy way to keep the same link for the shared file. Log into your Google Drive account in a web browser. Find the file you want to update, right-click on it, and select “Manage versions”.

01_selecting_manage_versions

On the Manage versions dialog box, click “Upload new version”.

02_clicking_upload_new_version

Navigate to location of the file you want to upload, select it, and click “Open”.

03_selecting_file

Each version of the file is listed on the Manage Versions dialog box, the file you just uploaded being labeled as the Current version. This is another handy feature of Manage versions. It allows you to access previous versions of files and download them, choose to keep them forever, or delete them. Click “Close”.

04_closing_manage_versions_dialog

Notice that there is still one copy of the file in your Google Drive account. Now, when you right-click on the file and select “Get shareable link”…

05_selecting_get_sharable_link

…the link on the Link sharing dialog box will be the same link as the original shareable link.

06_link_sharing_on

RELATED: How to Sync Your Desktop PC with Google Drive (and Google Photos)

The Manage versions feature is only available when you access your Google Drive account in a browser. If you work on a shared file directly in the Google Drive folder on your PC using the Google Drive desktop app, the file is also changed in your Google Drive account online without needing to upload it again. So, you don’t need to use the Manage versions feature. However, this feature is handy if you’re working on a file offline and then want to upload it and replace the old version without losing the original shareable link.