How to Automatically Empty the Deleted Items Folder When Exiting Outlook

00_lead_image_auto_empty_deleted_items

When you delete emails, tasks, calendar items, or notes in Outlook, they are moved to the Deleted Items folder. This folder is not emptied until you do it manually–at least by default. If you want, you can have Outlook empty this folder automatically when you exit the program.

RELATED: How to Make Outlook Display the Total Number of Messages in a Folder

NOTE: You may notice a bold number or a number in brackets on your Deleted Items folder. By default, Outlook displays how many unread items are in your Deleted Items folder (a bold number), but you can choose to display how many total items are in the folder instead (a number in brackets).

To turn on the option for automatically emptying the Deleted Items folder, click the “File” tab.

01_clicking_file_tab

On the backstage screen, click “Options” in the list of options on the left.

02_clicking_options

Click “Advanced” in the list of items on the left side of the Outlook Options dialog box.

03_clicking_advanced

In the Outlook start and exit section, click the “Empty Deleted Items folders when exiting Outlook” check box so there is a check mark in the box.

04_clicking_empty_deleted_items_folders

Click “OK” to accept the change and close the Outlook Options dialog box.

05_clicking_ok

When you exit Outlook, a confirmation dialog box displays to make sure you want to delete the items. If you decide you don’t want to delete the items, click “No”. Otherwise, click “Yes”.

06_delete_confirmation_dialog

This also works on the Trash folders in any Gmail accounts you may have added as IMAP accounts in Outlook.

Lori Kaufman is a writer who likes to write geeky how-to articles to help make people's lives easier through the use of technology. She loves watching and reading mysteries and is an avid Doctor Who fan.