It can be a little unnerving when your iPhone seems to know your routine, like it has ESP. This is often exhibited as notifications, such as when you get in your car and your phone gives you traffic conditions en route to your destination.

RELATED: Google’s Location History is Still Recording Your Every Move

The question is, how does your iPhone know where you’re going?
Off to the beach … but how did my iPhone know that?

Similar to Google’s location service, your iPhone tracks where you go and saves that information, which you can view later on a map.

For example, when you go to work every day, it will keep track of that. Thus, after a time, when you get in your car and head out in the morning, it lets you know how long it will take to get there. Similarly, at the end of the day, it will tell you how long it will take to get home.

This feature has pretty apparent usefulness. It’s very convenient to know ahead of time what your route is like. Then again, it can also seem a little creepy and invasive, which is why you may want to disable it. If you don’t want your iPhone tracking your every move, it only takes a few seconds to turn the feature off.

 To do this, first open the Settings on your iPhone and then tap open “Privacy”.

In the Privacy settings, tap on “Location Services”, then tap “System Services”.

In System Services, tap open “Frequent Locations”.

Here, you have the option of turning Frequent Locations off. Under the History heading, you will see all the places your iPhone has recorded.

If you want, you can just tap Frequent Locations off and be done with it.

If you tap a location, it will show frequent locations for a particular geographical area on a map. Go ahead and tap on a location at the bottom of the map.

Now you can see where you were, on what days, and at what times.

Maybe that’s a little too much information and you want to clear everything. No problem, just tap the “Clear History” button at the bottom of System Services settings page. A confirmation will pop up and you can tap “Clear History” to delete it or “Cancel” if you change your mind.

As far as we know, the information is kept locally and not reported back to Apple, unlike Google’s, which reports everything to their servers.

Nevertheless, it’s not essential to your iPhone’s operation, and turning it off won’t cripple other features. You will still be able to use Maps and navigate. Moreover, because the information is apparently stored locally, no one else should be able to access it.