How to Get Notified When Word Wants to Save Changes to the Normal Template


Templates in Word are like ready-made documents. They store formatting, styles, and page layout settings, default text, etc., that allow you to quickly create various types of documents. The default template applied to new, blank documents is the Normal template.

If you make changes to the Normal template, by default, Word saves those changes without notifying you. However, if you want to choose whether to save the changes to the Normal template, there is a setting that causes Word to ask if you want to save the changes. We’ll show you how to turn this setting on.

NOTE: We used Word 2013 to illustrate this feature.

To access this setting, click the “File” tab.


On the backstage screen, click “Options” in the list of items on the left.


On the “Word Options” dialog box, click “Advanced” in the list of items on the left.


In the “Save” section, select the “Prompt before saving Normal template” check box so there is a check mark in the box.


Click “OK” to save the change and close the “Word Options” dialog box.


Now, you’ll see a confirmation dialog box when you exit Word (not when you close a document) asking if you want to save the Normal template, as shown in the image at the beginning of this article.

Lori Kaufman is a writer who likes to write geeky how-to articles to help make people's lives easier through the use of technology. She loves watching and reading mysteries and is an avid Doctor Who fan.