00_lead_image_hide_fb_posts

Facebook is a great way to keep in touch with friends and family and let them know what’s going on in your life. However, what if you want to post something that you don’t want a specific person to see?

It’s easy to hide a post from certain people as well as showing a post to only certain people. To hide a post from a certain person, log in to your Facebook account in a browser and write your post in the Status box. Click the “Friends” button to the left of the “Post” button and then click “More Options.”

NOTE: The name on the button to the left of the “Post” button changes depending on your selection for who should see the post.

01_selecting_more_options

The drop-down list expands to include additional options. Click “Custom.”

02_selecting_custom

The “Custom Privacy” dialog box displays. In the “Don’t share this with” section, click in the “These people or lists” box and start typing the name of the person with whom you don’t want to share the post. A list of matching names displays as you type. Click the name of the desired person.

03_selecting_friend_for_dont_share

The name of the person displays in the “These people or lists” section.

You can also share a post only with specific people. By default, all your Friends are added into the “These people or lists” box in the “Share this with” section. If you only want to share the current post with a certain person, click the “X” on the “Friends” box to remove it.

04_removing_friends_from_share_this_with

Add the desired person to the “These people or lists” box in the “Share this with” section the same way described above for the “Don’t share this with” section.

NOTE: If you choose a specific person with whom you want to share a post, you don’t need to specify anyone in the “Don’t share this with” section. Your post will only be shared with the people you chose in the “Share this with” section.

Click “Save Changes” to return to your post.

05_adding_person_to_share_post_with

You can check the status of who will see your post by moving your mouse over the “Custom” button. The current settings for who can see this post display in a popup above the button.

NOTE: This is the same button as the “Friends” button we talked about at the beginning of this article. The name has now changed to reflect the face that we select custom settings for who can see the post.

07_showing_custom_friends

Click “Post” to share your post with the chosen people.

08_clicking_post

You can also change this setting for all future posts. You may want to do this if there’s a person you don’t want to “unfriend” but you don’t want them to see any of your posts. Click the down arrow on the right side of the top blue bar on your Facebook page. Select “Settings” from the drop-down menu.

09_selecting_settings

If you were in the middle of writing a post that you hadn’t posted yet, the following message displays. Click “Leave This Page” to go to the “Settings” page. Don’t worry, your post will still be there when you return to this page.

10_leave_this_page_dialog

On the “Settings” page, click “Privacy” in the list of options on the left.

11_clicking_privacy

The “Privacy Settings and Tools” screen displays. In the “Who can see my stuff?” section, click “Edit” to the right of “Who can see future posts?”

12_clicking_edit

The section expands to display more options. Notice that the custom selections you made directly from the post are displayed when you move your mouse over the “Custom” button. Click the “Custom” button to access the options.

13_clicking_custom_button

The “Custom Privacy” dialog box displays, just like when you clicked the “Friends” button as discussed earlier in this article. Make any changes you want and click “Save Changes.” These settings will be applied to all future posts.

14_clicking_save_changes_for_future_posts

When you are returned to the “Privacy Settings and Tools” screen, a “Remember” box displays telling you that the setting you just changed is the same one you can change right where you post, and you’ve updated it at the post as well.

15_remember_box

You can also create lists that allow you to share Facebook posts with certain groups of friends.