00_lead_image_pile_of_photos

Facebook has a feature that analyzes photos uploaded by your friends using its facial recognition technology. If your face is recognized in a photo, your name is suggested to the friend who uploaded it so that friend can more easily tag you in the photo.

If you’re concerned about privacy on Facebook and online in general, you can prevent your name from being suggested when Facebook recognizes you in a photo one of your friends posts.

NOTE: The setting we show you how to change here will only prevent your name from being suggested when your friends post pictures that include you. They will still be able to tag you in photos, they just won’t get prompted to do so.

To change the setting that will make it harder for your friends to tag you in photos, log in to your Facebook account and click the down arrow on the right side of the blue bar at the top of your home page. Select “Settings” from the drop-down menu.

01_selecting_settings

Click “Timeline and Tagging” in the list on the left.

02_clicking_timeline_and_tagging

In the “How can I manage tags people add and tagging suggestions” section, click the “Edit” link to the right of “Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded.”

03_clicking_edit_for_who_sees_tag_suggestions

The selected section expands. Select “No One” from the drop-down list.

04_selecting_no_one

Click “Close” to hide the details for this setting.

05_clicking_close

The setting is changed and saved as “No One” seeing suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded.

06_setting_changed

Remember that changing this setting does not prevent people from posting pictures of you on Facebook and tagging you in them. It just removes the suggestion that displays when your face is recognized in a photo.