How-To Geek

Wi-Fi Bands

A portion of the wireless communication spectrum is dedicated to wireless local area network (WLAN or Wi-Fi). Within this dedicated portion of the spectrum there are four distinct frequency bands, as specified by wireless networking standard IEEE 802.11: 2.4 GHz, 3.6 GHz, 4.9 GHz, and 5 GHz.

The majority of Wi-Fi users are using the 2.4Ghz band which includes the 802.11 b/g/n standards used by most consumer Wi-Fi enabled devices.

Get Free Articles in Your Inbox!

Join 134,000 newsletter readers


Go check your email!