The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Microsoft Office

Word 2007 paste from web blank unless unformatted

(4 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by ann13820
  • Latest reply from whs
  • Topic Viewed 2663 times

ann13820

Suddenly, when I try to paste from any web page, Word 2007 just sits stupidly as if I had done nothing unless I Paste-special-unformatted. No reaction at all from Ctrl-V or Paste. I think I've tried every possible combination in the Cut/Copy/Paste section of the Advanced area in Word Options. It doesn't work with everything at default. I am a very long-term merry cut-and-paster... all day every day (I'm a grant writer) and have been working extensively with Office 2007 for a couple of months. No problem until today. I'm gnashing my teeth and writhing on the floor. Help!
BTW, I tried clearing the clipboard and also pasting into Excel (works).
Eternally grateful,
Karen
~~~ on my way to missing a deadline ~~~ :(

Posted 6 years ago

whs
whs

So the clipboard and paste work, just not with Word, right? My guess would be that you have a corrupted Word system file - has happened to me before. Can you reinstall Word?

Posted 6 years ago

ann13820

Thanks for answering. Clipboard and paste work everywhere, including in Word. It's just the copy/paste from the web that doesn't work in Word anymore unless I paste-special it in unformatted, which is OK, just more time consuming and cumbersome.
Unfortunately, I work remotely on a notebook and my home office is 250 miles away... If it's a corrupted file, I guess I'll just have to work around it until I can get there.
Is there anything else it could be?

Posted 6 years ago

whs
whs