The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

(Solved) - Windows XP Removal

(12 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by PreetamD
  • Latest reply from PreetamD
  • Topic Viewed 434 times

PreetamD

Okay Guys... I migrated to Windows 7 and now I want to remove my Windows XP. But I cant format the XP Drive. I need your help to remove XP from my machine !!

I've uploaded an image of my disk management system.. If it helps in some way..

Posted 2 years ago

jmeeks49

PreetamD, first of all welcome to HTG,

i think how you have to do is delete the XP partition and reallocate the free space back to C i am not good at this part so you might want to wait until other members chimed in before you do anything.

John

Posted 2 years ago

G41M

I assumed you are dual booting xp and 7. Foremost is to make sure you have a backup image of your drive. This is just a protection if something goes wrong during the process.

When you create a dual-boot system and install Windows 7 on a second partition, setup installs all the Windows Boot Manager files on the first partition, which in this case is the Windows XP partition (this why you can not format the XP partition (in use). You need to copy the Windows Boot Manager files from the Windows XP partition to the Windows 7 partition. Boot into XP, in open Windows Explorer > Tools menu > Folder options >View tab and make sure that the "Show Hidden Files and Folders" option is selected and that "Hide Extensions for Known File Types" and "Hide Protected Operating System Files" are cleared. Go to the root folder of the XP drive (C:\) and copy the Boot folder and the bootmgr file to the root of your W7 drive.

Boot from your Windows 7 DVD, select "Repair Your Computer" option. From the System Recovery Options dialog box choose Command prompt option. At the Command prompt type

DISKPART

To select the harddrive type
SELECT DISK 0