The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

(Solved) - Windows 7 Install Partition Related Question

(17 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by Burnt
  • Latest reply from Berrymartin
  • Topic Viewed 377 times

Burnt

I'm new to Win 7 (coming from XP). During the windows install process, I desire C (50GB), D (70GB), and E (120GB) volumes on the same drive and create those volumes via the New option. Once I have made 3 partitions (windows not loaded yet nor formatted), I proceed to the next step. The software then proceeds to automatically format one of the partitions and loads windows without input from the user (me). It seems to pick either the last partition made or the largest partition (haven't sorted that out yet) and labels it C drive. Of course it doesn't pick the partition what I intended for my C drive. What is the best way to accomplish this (within the bounds of using Windows 7 and not 3rd party software)? By the way, this is a new SSD drive. I have seen a posts by other getting into DOS (DiskPart, etc.), would like to stick with the standard Windows 7 install or repair process if possible. Thanks.

Posted 1 year ago

raphoenix
raphoenix

If you have already loaded Windows once, then you need to Clean Up the SSD per this article first.

How to securely erase an SSD drive
http://howto.cnet.com/8301-113.....ssd-drive/

I know you don't like Diskpart but it is The Best Way to do what you want to do very quickly and easily.

Posted 1 year ago

germ-x
germ-x

Burnt hi
This might help. Couple of things to remember is the alignment whe setting up the SSD. You can make your 3rd partition after windows is installed
http://knowing-itech.blogspot......-more.html
http://www.sevenforums.com/tut.....nment.html

Posted 1 year ago

whs
whs

After you have done the Secure Erase, run these commands:

Diskpart
List disk
Select disk n (where n is the number that was given for your SSD in List disk)
Clean