The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

Win 7 disc image

(8 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by jeb1
  • Latest reply from mfletch
  • Topic Viewed 2658 times

jeb1

Can one use Win 7 to image a disc - to be able to use first an image and then do backups of a HD and in case of a failure boot and then re-install the image and then the backup to a new HD in the same system?

Tks - jb

Posted 4 years ago

Tom

jb, I am no expert on the subject but this is exactly what I do so I sure hope I can do what you want to do if my HD fails.

Posted 4 years ago

mfletch
mfletch

Create a system repair disc first

Then

Create a system image and save it to a external drive,

This image will contain whatever was on the drive,

To update the image you just do another "Create a system image}

Posted 4 years ago

raphoenix
raphoenix

jeb1,
---
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto.....windows-7/
---
ADDED: by raphoenix from another post.
---
"The main hardware limitation for restoring a system image backup is that the target computer must have at least as many hard drives as the source system and each drive must be at least as big as its corresponding drive in the source system.
---
Other target computer hardware is irrelevant because hardware drivers are isolated from the rest of the image information and are rebuilt as part of the restore process.
---
A backup image file can be stored on an external hard drive or in a shared network folder.
---
You can start the image restore process from a system repair disc you create or a windows 7 installation DVD."
---
Above info from Windows 7 Inside / Out; Published by Microsoft Press.
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago

jeb1

Rick, let me see if I understand -

1- If one had a 1T external drive and did an image to it, one could not then restore this image to a 350gb drive.

2- If one did an image to an external 350gb drive one could then restore to a 500gb or a 1T drive.