The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Linux

@whs

(22 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by hArLtRoN
  • Latest reply from whs
  • Topic Viewed 1098 times

hArLtRoN

I have been looking at your tutorial for installing Zorin in VMware and so far I like it! I have messed around with it for a few days and I'm installing it now on my laptop. Gonna use it as the main OS for awhile, see if I like it.

So far I've found everything I would need to install that I currently use in Windows (Dropbox, Spotify).

Posted 1 year ago

hArLtRoN

So I have Zorin installed (am posting from it) and I've run into something. Do you know how to keep the "status bar" from disappearing when in a window (ex: Chrome or LibreOffice)?

EDIT: I figured it out.

Posted 1 year ago

whs

I am glad you like Zorin. I have a lot of fun with it. I am no Linux expert at all but with Zorin I can do things.

For web work I use FireFox. I find it a bit better than the default Chrome. One thing I did not show in the videos - you can make the taskbar larger (which I like). Right click on on the Start button and go to Dock Preferences. Then you'll see. I set my size to 45. Then it shows about the same as my Win7 taskbar.

Posted 1 year ago

hArLtRoN

I am thinking about giving Ubuntu a try again. I have messed with it in the past.

You may be able to answer this question you may not, but how exactly are programs installed? I know you can go through the software center OR through the terminal. The problem I am running into (I ran into this problem the last time I experimented with Linux) is files with the extension .tar.gz, .tar.bz2.

I can't for the life of me figure out how to install programs from them, even after scouring the internet.

Posted 1 year ago

whs

I only install and remove thru the program library. Never had a problem. And yes, I cannot answer your specific question. I am sure the guys on the Linux forum can help you out.