SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

What´s the best (most user friendly) VM to run?

(72 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by madmacs
  • Latest reply from whs
  • Topic Viewed 7712 times

madmacs
madmacs

Hi all, so I´ve had a copy of Win 7 beta sitting here waiting to be tried out and recently posted how I should install. The Geek suggested running it in a Virtual Machine, so how do I do that, and what would you all suggest using? (I have never used VM´s before). HD space isn´t a problem so I could move things around to create enough needed. Thx in advance, Matt

EDIT: How much space would be needed to try out games, programs, etc.?

Posted 5 years ago

LH
LH

I've used this one a couple of times. Very user friendly. But I'm no expert with it, so don't ask me anything technical.
http://www.virtualbox.org/

Posted 5 years ago

madmacs
madmacs

Thx LH, one question though (nothing too technical), will I have to make a seperate partition in order to use a VM?

Posted 5 years ago

LH
LH

No. This one creates a large folder/file on your system partition. The size, you can set yourself, or use the default.

Posted 5 years ago

madmacs
madmacs

Cheers, I´ll give it a try.

Posted 5 years ago

LH
LH

I will be needing to use one in a week or 2. So,if I have any problems, I will come to you :)

Posted 5 years ago

madmacs
madmacs

Yeah right, pull the other one ;)

Posted 5 years ago

whs
whs

LH, what happens when you close the virtual partition - does everything disappear (like e.g. in Sandboxy). So next time you have to start from scratch. I am asking because I was considering the virtual approach (or the USB approach) for W7.

Posted 5 years ago

LH
LH