How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

WD Elements SE 1TB External Hard Drive Not Working

(8 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by omma2289
  • Latest reply from omma2289
  • Topic Viewed 2804 times

omma2289

Hi there,
I have a problem with my external hard drive, its a WD Elements SE 1TB and its not being recognized by Windows (running Windows 7). Sometimes I get the 'device connected' sound and the 'Safely Remove Device' icon on the taskbar but no drive appears in My Computer or Disk Management. Also, attempting a Safe Removal just hangs until I disconnect the drive.

I found this thread which regards the same hard drive model and offers different solutions that mostly require electrical engineering and that truthfully I don't completely understand, I'm a Software Engineer but I may find a friend who can help me with that part, I would just like to know which direction to take this in order to get access to my files.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks

Posted 1 year ago

Xhi

Have you tried it in a different computer? If it works there back it up.

What is in Disk Management (Start type: windows disk management) for this drive when connected? Does it have a drive letter different from any other drive? If not give it one. (Right click - Change drive letter)

Posted 1 year ago

omma2289

Yes, I tried it in another Windows 7 machine and in Ubuntu but it didn't work.
I just tried it again in my own computer, a "Local Drive" appeared on 'My Computer' but I can't access it. First I get a message saying I need to format the drive, then the error: "E:\ is not accesible. Data error (Cyclic redundancy check) ".

This is what appears in Disk Manager:

Posted 1 year ago

Lighthouse

Try accessing it with the free version of this,
http://www.partitionwizard.com.....nager.html

Posted 1 year ago

omma2289