SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows Vista

Vista Freezes, and System Restore Has No Restore Points?

(15 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by skyheart12
  • Latest reply from warlock
  • Topic Viewed 1860 times

skyheart12

Hello, first off I'd like to say I'm not very good with computers but I'm kind of desperate for help.
My windows vista keeps freezing after several minutes of no use. In the middle of a download, or while I'm surfing the web it decides to freeze up. I can't use CTRL ALT DELETE to exit the program I'm on, sometimes my mouse wont move, the computer just stops working and I have to manually press the off/on button... I'm suspicious that the problem started when I installed Nero 7 Startsmart. Also, stupid stupid STUPID me, when my McAfee expired I assumed my windows security was working but when this problem started I went to scan my pc and NONE of the basic protection was enabled. How dumb of me.

This has been going on for a couple weeks now, as I've had no time lately to deal with this. Now I'm getting worried about constantly manually shutting down my laptop, having my computer suggest I use Safe Mode and Safe Mode with Networking (which I'm on right now). I tried system restore hoping to fix the problem, but there aren't any Restore Points created.. possibly due to my windows security being off for a while? When I tried uninstalling Nero it said "Error" and something about my windows installer not being installed properly, but I know for a fact it was working 2 or 3 weeks ago. I'm really really hoping I wont have to restore my computer to factory settings because of files and download, is there anything I can do?
Thank you

Posted 1 year ago

warlock
warlock

http://windows.microsoft.com/e.....your-files See if you can do this. To CD's or an external HD. If you can then you can try to sort the problem. Which may turn out to be a factory reset. But, at least you will have your files.