The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Linux

Unity desktop

(5 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by bruce6111
  • Latest reply from BobJam
  • Topic Viewed 986 times

bruce6111

I'm new to Unity. When I install 12.04 on my PC the launcher does not appear, although I can start programs by moving my cursor all the way to the left of my screen and clicking away. Of course I can't see which icons I'm clicking on.

The menu bar also appears at the top of my screen but it shows no text unless I move the cursor over the bar, forcing me to search for the text.

I've installed 12.04 twice, and this has happened twice. How do I get the launcher and the contents of the menu bar to appear?

Any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong will be greatly appreciated.

Posted 1 year ago

alvasrawuther

@bruce6111 - That thing with the menu bar you said is actually a new 'feature' of Ubuntu rather than a shortcoming or fault. It's called the universal menu bar and it saves screen space. It'll only show the title unless you scroll over it and then it reveals the menu items.

Go to system settings>Appearance>Behaviour and make sure the settings are the same as the screenshots below and tell me if the problem persists.
http://i.imgur.com/g8xGf.png

And you can switch back to GNOME if you want to.
Just open the terminal and type in the following commands with the internet connected.
sudo -s - Type this command then enter your password. Then enter the following commands.
add-apt-repository ppa:gnome3-team/gnome3
apt-get update
apt-get upgrade
apt-get dist-upgrade
apt-get install gnome-shell
apt-get remove unity
exit

Then restart your PC to start using GNOME instead of Unity.

Posted 1 year ago

nosparks