The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

(Solved) - time for 64-bit

(10 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by mickeyblue
  • Latest reply from ProstheticHead
  • Topic Viewed 745 times

mickeyblue

hey all, im fed up with 32-bit Win7, now im taking the plunge and im gonna format and clean install 64-bit, anyone got any tips for me.........
current programs i use......
bitcomet, SAS, MSE, Cool edit pro 2.1, Ashampoo win optimizer6, google chrome, lavalys everest corporate edition,

question is, what is 32-bit mode? is it like compatibility mode? in other words if i install a 32-bit program, can i use it in the 32-bit mode? what exactly is it, im new to 64-bit so some pointers will be greatly appreciated.

alternatively i could use Sunbox and have Win7 32-bit in virtual OS, what is best?

Posted 4 years ago

ispalten

THIS LINK will probably answer most of your questions...

I'll answer some here too,

"what is 32-bit mode? is it like compatibility mode? in other words if i install a 32-bit program, can i use it in the 32-bit mode? what exactly is it"

Well, 32 bit programs do run in the 64 bit version. They load in 'emulation' and this can possibly slow down the app, but it may not be apparent to you, see .

The biggest headache you might find is getting 64 bit device drivers, especially for OLDER h/w, like scanners and printers. 32 bit device drivers will not work. Some programs as well might now work or have full function as they use 32 bit built in drivers for h/w access. Many will have comparable 64 bit versions, like most un-installers, disk managers, and partitioning s/w for instance.

Irv S.

MORE ON THIS HERE

Posted 4 years ago

whs

Nearly all of the problems people seem to have with Win7 are with the 64bit version. I would think twice before I used it. And unless you have more than 4GB of RAM, it does not really buy you anything. The 32bit Win7 works like on rails though.

Posted 4 years ago

at0mic