The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

(Solved) - Thinking of a gaming PC

(12 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by WyrmHero
  • Latest reply from WyrmHero
  • Topic Viewed 764 times

WyrmHero

Hey I'm new to building PCs and I want some suggestions from the experts. I researched a lot but still I have issues deciding what is the best CPU and video card for a gaming PC. Here's what I came up with:

http://secure.newegg.com/Shopp.....ubmit=view

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM+3 (AMD motherboard)

CPU: AMD FX-4170 Zambezi Quad-Core Processor 4.2 GHz

Video Card: GIGABYTE GV-R7850C Radeon HD 7850 1GB (I choose it because of high stream processors, no idea lol)

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4x4GB) (motherboard has 4 ram slots)

SSD: Samsung 830 Series 128 GB

Power Supply; Rosewill FORTRESS Series 650 W (+80 Platinum for eco-friendliness)

Case: Corsair Carbide Series 300R

Monitor: ASUS VS Series LCD-LED 1080p 23"

Disk Drive: LITE-ON Internal 12x Blu-Ray Combo

If I'm missing something please let me know. My budget is about $1000. Will this setup run most PC games (strategy games specifically) at max settings?

Posted 1 year ago

eorgeburns8

i can't see anything with the link

Posted 1 year ago

ronniesonora

WyrmHero, your mother board is PCI Express 2.0 x16 and your video card is PCI Express 3.0 x16

Posted 1 year ago

WyrmHero

Can't find any AMD PCI Express 3.0 motherboard. :( Should I get an Intel motherboard instead (those are PCI Express 3.0), or look for a PCI Express 2.0 video card?

Posted 1 year ago

LadyFitzgerald

I don't know enough to comment on the other components but I feel you should rethink the PSU. The PSU you linked gets poor reviews. For $30 less, you can get the Corsair TX650. It essentially is the same as the Rosewill but gets better reviews. Warranty is only five years versus the seven years of the Rosewill but you are less likely to have problems with the Corsair.