How-To Geek Forums / Off Topic

Tech Help Anecdote

(5 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by BobinSECO
  • Latest reply from Lighthouse
  • Topic Viewed 457 times

BobinSECO

Hi, everyone.

I am posting this in the hopes some of you may find it humorous. I am not an IT pro or anything, but I'm good enough with computers that I'm the guy who friends and family call for geeky help.

Yesterday I went to assist a 65-ish guy and his 70-ish sister with scanning and saving historic photos. They had both warned me that they are completely computer illiterate. So, they have a Dell printer/scanner hooked to a Dell desktop. Piece of cake.

Oops, wait. The first thing I'm told is that we need to rewire the router and/or the DSL modem for some reason. Without even understanding what we are trying to accomplish, I obey. Then, a new Asus laptop is fired up, and I am handed a sheet with instructions, courtesy of Jimmy. Oh, see, the Dell belongs to *Jimmy*. Jimmy has some VERY VERY important files on the Dell. Jimmy (not real name) has an important IT job 400 miles away. Jimmy is the woman's son. We must be VERY careful so as to not disturb Jimmy's files.

The first instruction is to turn the scanner on. Done. Instruction #2 is to click on the red X at the bottom right of the screen to.... do something... I forget what. Now, in a couple decades of fiddling with computers I don't believe I can remember the act of clicking a red X ever doing anything other than to either close something or for a red X to serve as some sort of error icon. There is no red X at the bottom right of either computer's screen.

"Let's call Jimmy"