The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

[Answered] Should I attempt building myself? [No!]

(21 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by Bedard95
  • Latest reply from jack7h3r1pp3r
  • Topic Viewed 3876 times

Bedard95

I would like to build my own computer. I have never built one before. Actually, I don't even know if I'm qualified to even attempt this. I am open to all sorts of advice, opinions, criticism, what have you.

The computer I have now was built for me about 4 years ago and I'm sure the parts in it are older than that. Last week my HD crashed. I'm not sure if it was just coincidence or if it had something to do with my trying to download and install the SP2. I had (at the time) Win XP SP1. This was probably my 3rd time trying, all unsuccessful. The other times, I was able to boot it up in Safe Mode and I would have to uninstall the SP2. This most recent time, I couldn't even get the darn thing to boot up in Safe Mode. The IT guy at my work replaced the HD with an extra one he had on hand. My original HD was 80GB. The replacement one I have in there now is only 40GB. I can't complain though b/c it was free. He also found a key-logging virius and got rid of that. He was able to save my data (my 4,000+ pictures, MyDocuments and my iTunes library). I was smart enough to save my pictures onto a DVD just before my attempt to DL and install SP2. My computer now has AVG (the free version), SpyBot and the windows firewall that came with SP2 (oh, I actually have SP3 now). And I only have 256mb RAM. How sad is that?