SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows 8

(Solved) - Setting up windows 8 to use a dual hard drive.

(14 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by Remp2012
  • Latest reply from presence1960
  • Topic Viewed 4919 times

Remp2012
Remp2012

I just put windows 8 on a family member's computer. I noticed that they had two hard drives in their computer, one for the system and one for everything else, and i have never worked with that before. How so i set up windows 8 to use one drive for the os and the other everything else?

Posted 1 year ago

Remp2012
Remp2012

Please help!

Posted 1 year ago

Remp2012
Remp2012

Bump!

Posted 1 year ago

presence1960
presence1960

You can do it two ways. Go into BIOS and make the hard disk used for Windows first in the hard disk boot order. Then Save Changes in BIOS and reboot off the Windows 8 DVD. Proceed to install windows 8 to the proper disk. I would make note of the disk sizes just to be safe that you choose the right disk to install to.

Or if you aren't comfortable with the above simply disconnect the other hard disk used for data and install windows to the one left connected. When finished installing Windows make sure it boots ok then reconnect the other hard disk. Just make sure you set the windows hard disk up as disk 0 so it will boot with the second hard disk connected. Either method will work, however if inexperienced at partitioning and setting up multiple hard disks the second way is your best bet because you can't mess up or lose data with only one disk (the windows disk) connected for the installation.

Posted 1 year ago

presence1960
presence1960

I may have misunderstood your original post. Do you have Windows 8 already installed?

Posted 1 year ago

Remp2012
Remp2012