SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

(Solved) - search box

(13 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by Robertyyy
  • Latest reply from LH
  • Topic Viewed 579 times

Robertyyy
Posts: 186

Hi, how do i get the search box from the start menu, there is not a search box at the start menu, i have windows 7 professional, just while my computer is being repaired. thank you

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
baldeguy56
baldeguy56
Posts: 810

Robertyyy, hi. I'm not really sure as to exactly what you are requesting. There is a search feature, but is not in the same place as in XP. By clicking on the start button, there will be a blank bar above the Start Button that says "Start Search". Just type-in what you're looking for. Here is how to refine the Search Feature in Win7. Please, post back if this is not what you are refferring to...Garry

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

Far better is,
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto.....n-windows/

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Robertyyy
Posts: 186

Hi, LH I am sorry for the delay i was at the hospital, i have downloaded the search everything, & i have found the search box, but i cannot get it on the start menu, it must have been the way the computer guy has figured out this computer

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

C:\Program Files\Everything\Everything.exe
right click on it, and select Pin to Start Menu.

Accepted Answer · Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Robertyyy
Posts: 186

Hi, LH I am should get my computer back in a few hours, my computer is a windows Vista, hopefully it is all sorted out, i dont know what you mean, C:\Program Files\Everything\Everything.exe
right click on it, and select Pin to Start Menu, i am getting no Pin to Start Menu, are you saying right click search everything desktop shortcut?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

You can do it that way too.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Robertyyy
Posts: 186

It just says pin to taskbar is that correct?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

Use that for the moment. I will investigate further.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Robertyyy
Posts: 186

It says pin to the start menu also

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

Do that.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
Robertyyy
Posts: 186

Ok i have pin to the start menu, thank you LH!!!

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

My pleasure :)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

Enter Your Email Here to Get Access for Free:

Go check your email!