Remote desktop questions/issues

(10 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by InDiSent
  • Latest reply from InDiSent
  • Topic Viewed 2603 times

InDiSent
InDiSent

Hey Guys,

I have yet another issue. When i remote desktop into any of the other PCs in my home network, some things are missing. In the system tray the Symantec Corporate antivirus icon does not show up even though it is running. Also, when i go into the display properties; under the screen saver tab the power button is missing so i can't change any of the power config. For example, i can't go in and tell it to do nothing when i close the lid. I can do it if i log into the laptop remotely, but not via remote desktop. Also, i can't right click a file and choose scan for viruses. I'm sure their are many other things i can't, but those are the two that come to mind right now. I am logging into the other machines as myself and i am an Admin. Any thoughts?

Posted 6 years ago

InDiSent
InDiSent

*EDIT*

I meant i can get to the power config if i log into the laptop locally. Sorry.

Anyone have any ideas?

Posted 6 years ago

michael
michael

I may be wrong, so someone please correct me if I am. But I am not entirley sure that you can edit power configurations from different computers.

--
Mike

Posted 6 years ago

InDiSent
InDiSent

Hmmm, I think you're right. I wonder why the SAV icon doesn't show up either though and why you can't right click a file to choose scan for virus. I also use Ulta VNC, that allows you to do anything just as if you were sitting in fornt of the machine. I was just hoping to use the remote desktop instead so that i could have one less app installed.

Posted 6 years ago

bamsan
bamsan

Why don't you try 3rd party software. I'll suggest timbuktu pro.

http://www.netopia.com/software/products/tb2/

Posted 6 years ago

michael
michael

That would be good. Sorry if you already mentioned this InDiSent, but why do you wish to modify power options? No worries - just curious. =).

--
Mike