SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

Potential configuration -- first build; trying to be game AND work friendly. r/o

(11 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by megabeast
  • Latest reply from LH
  • Topic Viewed 1179 times

megabeast

Alright so I am very new to this, so please be gentle if I obviously screwed up or did something silly; hey that's why I'm here!

The PC I'm planning to build will be my only computer, and therefore I need it to be versatile. I do some autoCAD, sketch-up, and photoshop frequently...so theoretically I should get a workstation graphic card. However, the prices are steep, and I'm not even sure if it's so worth it. I've also heard some about softmodding geforce -> quadro cards and was thinking this could be an option if I felt like it really needed to happen. The reason I didn't want to do a quadro is because of price, and also I do plan to game a little (not intense games though...just Sims and counter-strike, maybe halo. I'd like to have the options to try other games though).

Goals: Accommodate using a lot of programs at once, including graphics-intensive ones (CAD, photoshop). Speed, dependability. Support gaming occassionally. And to be upgradeable in the future.
Budget: Around 1,000 or under

Processor:
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8400

Hard drive:
Western Digital Caviar Blue WD800JD 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Memory:
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK

Motherboard:
EVGA 123-YW-E175-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI FTW ATX Intel Motherboard - (I just chose this because it was a combo deal with the video card)

Graphic card:
EVGA 512-P3-N871-AR GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

Power supply: