The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows XP

Portable Hard Drive

(17 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by boman
  • Latest reply from Xhi
  • Topic Viewed 650 times

boman

I have been using XP for many yrs. now and it is beginning to slow down, of course. Just wondering, if I buy a portable hard drive I would like to transfer files, pictures, etc. to the portable hard drive. I guess it should speed the old PC up but am wondering about drivers, etc. Can I transfer the whole system (if that's at all possible) to the portable HD. Thanks in advance for any info provided.

BoB

Posted 2 years ago

Lighthouse

Best thing would be to transfer all of your personal stuff to an external drive, and then re-install XP. Then copy it back.

Posted 2 years ago

tech27

I just wan to insert this one, @lighthouse, what external HDD can you recommend that is good and durable? with usb 3.0 with a good price also like 500GB or 1TB capacity.

Posted 2 years ago

Lighthouse

tech27 new topic please.

Posted 2 years ago

whs

@boman, your PC will not get any faster by dumping some user files on an external harddrive. Do what Lighthouse suggested. That will triple the speed of your system - I have just done that for a friend and the result was amazing.

Once you are done with the new installation and all the XP updates and programs are installed, I recommend you take an image of the system to your new external disk. Then you need not go thru the whole installation process again when the time comes to clean-up.

If you need guidance regarding imaging, post back. We'll help.

Posted 2 years ago

boman